Homemade Maple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Wow! I scaled back the white sugars about a 1/4 cup and added brown instead. Even though I didnt have real maple extract it came out delightful. I also thicked it a bit with cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I used all brown sugar instead of white. And I used vanilla instead of maple with a Tbsp of butter. Taste just like store bought!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
We love this syrup! instead of the maple flavoring, we add a capful vanilla and 1/2 cup blueberry puree. we have even done this with strawberries and it was amazing! If you use raw sugar, it is darker, but adds a whole new dimension to the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I am never buying maple syrup from the store ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jedidiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
We make this all the time in our house now. Once you have this stuff, you won't go back to that store-bought thick brown glue. I can't believe some reviewers were actually disappointed that it didn't taste like store-bought. This is way better and probably much healthier for you. The recipe is so simple, we all have it memorized. You can control how thick your syrup is by how long you simmer on the stove - cook longer for a thicker syrup. BUT be aware that a thicker syrup will also become more crystalized after a few days. We usually go for thinner so we lose less of our syrup to rock candy. We increase the recipe by 50% and add a dash of both maple and vanilla at the end. I also add a dash or two of salt at the beginning; seems to give it more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megamuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I use this recipe all the time! No chemicals, all natural and inexpensive when real maple syrup is too expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
this is an awesome recipe. and the only syrup we will use. : ) and it makes a great gift, just seal in a half quart jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Perfect every time!!!! My entire family loves this recipe! Even my 3 yr old wants to start making it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
OMG! Best syrup EVER! Added some vanilla, butter and cornstarch as suggested by the other readers.... Turned out GREAT! Kids licked their plates clean, and I was tempted to do the same! Never buying syrup again! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States