Homemade Maple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Although it thickened after cooling, it was way to sweet, not my preference but maybe for someone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Great recipe!!! easy to make, you can change the flavors, and most important of all NO MORE HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP!!!! ( tip cook a little longer for more thickness)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I didn't have any maple extract, so I used raspberry extract instead. It's wonderful with blueberry pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This recipe is amazing! Quick and simple with phenomenal results. It has just the perfect consistency: not too runny, not too thick. I added some vanilla extract along the the maple. Will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Simple, quick, and delicious! I used 1 tbsp butter, and 2 tsp of molasses, instead of maple flavoring. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris Vigil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Wow! I scaled back the white sugars about a 1/4 cup and added brown instead. Even though I didnt have real maple extract it came out delightful. I also thicked it a bit with cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana Noel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I used all brown sugar instead of white. And I used vanilla instead of maple with a Tbsp of butter. Taste just like store bought!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
We love this syrup! instead of the maple flavoring, we add a capful vanilla and 1/2 cup blueberry puree. we have even done this with strawberries and it was amazing! If you use raw sugar, it is darker, but adds a whole new dimension to the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I am never buying maple syrup from the store ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jedidiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
We make this all the time in our house now. Once you have this stuff, you won't go back to that store-bought thick brown glue. I can't believe some reviewers were actually disappointed that it didn't taste like store-bought. This is way better and probably much healthier for you. The recipe is so simple, we all have it memorized. You can control how thick your syrup is by how long you simmer on the stove - cook longer for a thicker syrup. BUT be aware that a thicker syrup will also become more crystalized after a few days. We usually go for thinner so we lose less of our syrup to rock candy. We increase the recipe by 50% and add a dash of both maple and vanilla at the end. I also add a dash or two of salt at the beginning; seems to give it more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megamuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

Maple Salmon

Make this delicious, easy salmon flavored with maple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States