Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2000
Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
great mac and cheese recipe the only thing I did differently was not add the parmesan , my husband does not like it, or the paprika other than that it's excellent we eat it at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYANJENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lachute, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2000
This is the best Mac and Cheese recipe I've found. It can be a little time consuming while making the roux and melting the cheese, but the results are astounding. I've made this several times and it's become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Great easy Mac & Cheese, my family loves it and that is a tough sell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Mmmmmm good!! And so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Nice and cheesy but a tad bland, so I added 1 Tablespoon dijon mustard and a dash of garlic powder. very nice! Doubled well with no adjustments. I also used two thirds skim milk and one third half and half because I like my mac and cheese very rich. Probably could have gone even heavier for my tastes, but most folks probably would like it a little lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
my kids love mac and cheese. I add 1/4 cup sour cream and 4 slices cooked bacon thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
loved this recipe, doubled it with no problems. however, it may have turned out better due to the following changes I made: only 1/2 cup of milk, with 2 cups of evaporated milk and 1/2 cup sour cream for a creamier texture. added a clove of garlic, 1 diced sauteed onion and some spices to the sauce as the recipe seemed sort of bland with just the milk, roux and cheeses. and for the topping I used crushed croutons browned in butter. this is a very quick and simple recipe that I will turn to again! but I definitely recommend adding something a little extra to your sauce if you want something a little more tasty. and the croutons turned out a lot crunchier on top than the baked breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
This recipe was just the thing to impress my boss, who loved the old-fashioned flavor. I did add the ground mustard, and mixed a few different cheeses for added flavor. I also substituted heavy cream for about a third of the milk, and it really added to the rich taste. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Mason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
This was an awesome recipe, but like most people I added about 2 1/2 cup of cheese, instead of only 2 cups. I found that 1/2 of bread crumbs was too much, so next time I'm not going to add so much. Great leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 982) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States