Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I loved this recipe. I made it exactly as listed. I'd never made Mac and cheese with parmesan cheese and I thought it was delicious. I made sure I used only 8 oz of pasta so it would not be dry with too much pasta. It came out so creamy. I will make my Mac and cheese like this from now on. Thanks for a wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sydfen07
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I halved this recipe and it turned out very well!! Although i wouldn't recommend using rice bread crumbs because they were a bit stiff. Loved the Mac and cheese!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
It was good I cut down about half a cup of milk and used 2 cans of tuna to make a tuna casserole. It's not very cheesy so I'm glad I used it for a casserole. Also added garlic and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Made this recipe as a side dish for dinner and my husband and I both thought it was good, especially considering it was my first crack at homemade mac n cheese and I did it rather quickly.I did use 1/2-1cup extra colby jack onto what the recipe called for. I will probably substitute the Parmesan and add dry mustard powder and Worcester in the future. I think adding the ham or chicken for a complete meal is a great idea too! My only complaint would be that it was a little grainy, I am not sure how to fix that though, any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Hamon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I used mild cheddar with gruyere from trader joes instead of sharp cheddar and Italian bread crumbs instead of regular. It was so delicious! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I would give this 4.5 stars. Very good basic recipe and the bread crumbs on top were so good when fried with a little butter. I read some of the reviews and after seeing that some thought it was a bit bland I sauteed a minced shallot and garlic clove in butter, then added the flour to make the roux. After finishing the sauce I was sure it was too much sauce for the amount of noodles, but I added it anyway and it thickened up perfectly in the oven. So delicious! With the garlic and shallot I would give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Like all the other reviewers say it's easy to make and delicious. The cheese sauce will be funny when you pour it over the noodles. Don't worry! It thickens up when baking in the oven. I was super nervous when I did it. Thought for sure we would be ordering in pizza because it wasn't going to work. But it did! This is a great recipe and I will be using it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
The only thing missing from this was bacon. So I added it. AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Mac and cheese should be simple and tasty - this recipe delivers. I'm a single dad so it's about simplicity. I served it with a head of lettuce - kids and I spooned the mac&cheese into a lettuce leaf for amazing contrasts: crunchy + soft, hot + cold, decidant + healthy. I used panko breadcrumbs and got a great result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
It worked as a base recipe (which is what it purported to be). A dash of salt and pepper to each serving made the basic dish perfect. I'll try other additions in the future; it is definitively good enough to make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Argueta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 973) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States