Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Excellent! I always make my roux with equal parts butter and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Just made this this afternoon, Some modifications I made... 1/8 t mustard powder to sauce sub fat free half & half for milk used seasoned croutons (crushed) instead of breadcrumbs Rich, Creamy, and filling...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This is a great recipe. It is similar to my mom's over 50 years ago!! We used canned evaporated skim milk in ours and it was very rich and creamy. Also, I like tomato slices on the top. Yum Yum Yum. Thanks for this recipe reminder that I had just forgotten over the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Corbett Balach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carnegie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
A very good mac and cheese recipe with ingredients I usually have on hand. I liked that this started with making a roux for the sauce. I think that helped make it very creamy. The leftovers of this reheated very nicely with separating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was very yummy and my husband said it was just like his mom used to make. I used the entire 16oz box of macaroni and added 1/2 teaspoon of pepper to the cheese mixture. I also upped the breadcrumbs to 3/4 cup as we both like the crunchy topping. I think next time I'll add more cheese to the top and maybe some garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Really good, I enjoyed the crumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I found this recipe Really helpful and when I made it, it turned out perfect! There was only one thing I changed and it was that I used 1 ½ c. Half and Half and 1 ½ c. Milk instead of just 3 cups of milk. But other than that it turned out very nice. I love to cook and I will highly recommend this recipe to Anyone that wished to make some good homemade Mac & Cheese. The bread crumbs gave it a nice crisp on the top but it wasn’t too overpowering. When I made this for my family, they kept going back for more and that night I wished I made multiple servings of this spectacular dish. I also didn’t mix the butter with the bread crumbs because I didn’t feel like it was necessary to add more fattening things when 2 c. of cheese was already added. I simply sprinkled the breadcrumbs over the top before baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
It came out delicious! The only things i did differently was that i added only about 2 1/4 cups of milk, i added a bit of mustard, and i also sprinkled some more cheddar and parmesan on top of the dish, right before i added the breadcrumbs. Everyone in my house loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I loved this Mac and cheese. But I was a little confused by the 1/4 cup butter and 2-1/2 T. Flour called for in the recipe. Then later in the instructions, we were told to "stir in enough flour to make a roux." Please be advised that flour and butter should be in equal proportions for a roux: 2 T. Butter to 2 T. Flour. Besides that little problem, this was amazingly tasty!!! I loved the buttery bread crumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I only used the measurements which worked perfectly. I used smoked gouda, aged Irish cheddar,sweet cheddar. Mixed siracha and garlic black pepper into the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 886) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States