Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This was pretty good. I made the mistake of using mild cheddar instead of sharp. Had I done that AND added more ingredients like others have said, this would been TOO good. I'll be trying again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
My daughter likes store bought mac'n cheese and I refuse to buy it. This is a good alternative and the stuff that I don't want in it isn't (food coloring, yada, yada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I followed this recipe as written with one exception: I used crumbled Ritz crackers in place of the bread crumbs. It turned out pretty good. The cheese was a little lumpy, so I probably needed to stir it a little longer. Also, it needed salt to help the flavor. Next time I'll add salt before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This was a really good basic recipe. I read some of the reviews and incorporated some tips. I added garlic powder, celery salt, paprika and white pepper. I used a can of evaporated milk. And since I was serving this with caesar salad, I thought it would be fun to make breadcrumbs out of store-bought croutons, so I skipped the step of cooking the breadcrumbs in butter. I used old cheddar cheese and provolone for the shredded cheese, and parmesan and romano for the grated cheese. The only thing I wasn't sure of was the very next step after the roux. I added the milk and I wasn't sure how long to cook it before adding in the cheese. I thought I was supposed to wait for bubbles to form (as I often do when roux is involved), but after maybe 8-10 minutes of cooking it on medium, I added in the cheese. I wonder if I should have added the cheese as soon as the milk got hot ... I think it might have made for a smoother sauce. But overall, this is a great recipe and I'll definitely revisit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I have made this a few times. Follow the recipe but I keep my heat at medium for a while after I add the milk, to make sure that it's nice and hot for when I add the cheese. I also add different spices - like Epicure's sage and apple - which gives it some really nice flavour. I always add in cubed ham as well for some protein. Bakes uncovered. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Make last week and the family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
this was so delicious! rich and creamy. I used a sleeve of ritz crackers crushed up instead of bread crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Very very good and easy to make, my hubby loves this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marci Ferree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bella Cullen
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Delicious! Great for a family meal or a single person.. if you want leftover's. It's not expensive and not hard to make. I made it the first time using the instructions exactly. This time I used a bit more than a pinch of Paprika, a 1/4th cup more shredded Sharp Cheddar cheese to make the sauce a bit thicker, it came out great! However, using the original recipe or your own touches don't worry if the sauce doesn't get think enough. Soon as it is in the oven for the first 10-15min it thickens up very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella Cullen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Family loved it. Thanks to the comments I was able to make a great roux. Added more spices, but base was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,001) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States