Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
i'm giving this 3 stars because this recipe is really only a base for you to give you an idea of what goes into macaroni and cheese - you'll definitely have to doctor it up / get creative with it to get the macaroni you want. i used 2 cups of milk instead of 3, and the sauce came out perfectly thick and creamy after baking in the oven. i also added 1 tbsp garlic powder, and some fresh cracked pepper and salt. i also used 3 different kinds of cheeses just because that's what i had in my kitchen: 1 cup colby/jack, 1/2 cup swiss, and 1/2 cup cheddar plus the 1/2 cup parmesan the recipe calls for. like other reviewers said using fresh grated parmesan instead of the pre-grated kraft kind might make it a little less grainy but overall i didn't think it was too bad. I didn't have trouble with graininess; the key is making the roux properly. i lived in louisiana for awhile - the trick is low heat and CONSTANTLY stirring with a whisk. you really want to get the flour all mixed in, so i added the flour slowly, alternating with milk when i made my recipe. and the longer you cook, the better. my macaroni wasn't bland, but i did use different cheeses and added a few spices. i also forwent the bread crumbs and just did more shredded cheese on top. it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
The ingredient list might not be correct. Three cups of milk turned out to be too much liquid for a roux of 2 tbl. butter and 2.5 tbl. of flour. Two cups would have been better. I had to add more flour later to thicken the sauce enough to melt the cheese. Perhaps there is a typo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I used leftover French's french fried onions instead of bread crumbs, half and half instead of milk and a little dry mustard, worcestershire, cumin, cayenne and chili powder. I'm having seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Easy and was big hit in my house, especially with my son who is a Mac n cheese snob lol. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Good stuff. Season to your own liking and switched cheeses but a great base recipe and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was amazing.... I doubled the recipe and used 1/2 evaporated milk and half regular milk... The whole family raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Delicious! I substituted 1/2 of the milk with light cream and added shrimp. It was devoured!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Not a good taste or consistancy. We used Italian Bread crumbs. Maybe that was it? We prefer the velveeta recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this macaroni and cheese dish for Christmas dinner today. I did not have milk, but I always keep powdered buttermilk mix in my fridge and use it any time I am out of milk. (Well I have Vanilla Soy Milk, but it would've ruined this recipe) I used cheese ends from a package from Big Y (makes yummy mac n cheese w/ different surprise cheeses). It is delicious! I also added some chopped onion and dried thyme leaves for color and extra subtle taste. I'll be making this dish more often....it's very easy and worth the effort it takes to make it from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 888) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States