Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Great recipe-I did cut the butter in half. It was a bit "soupier" than I prefer, so I added a few more noodles the next time. I always use whole wheat noodles. I loved the tang of the parmesan, I used up a couple small bits of assorted cheeses in the frig (jarlsberg & something else) in addition to the cheddar, which was delicious. My last addition was one and a half teaspoons of smoked paprika. I usually add some to cheese or egg dishes. If you've not used it before, start out with one teaspoon to four servings then you can increase to taste. One last variation the second time was using minced jalapenos, last of the season. The milk cuts the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Excellent recipe. I almost decided to not do the bread crumb topping. Glad I did this extra step! Nice crunchy addition. Think next time I won't make a roux but just put the cheese into the heated milk and pour on the macaroni. It was a tad dry. Some of the comments made me laugh. Of course it's full of fat, duh! Not sure about all the additions folks made........but, to each his/her own, eh! The Winter Salad with Lemon Poppy Seed dressing, and Copper Pennies recipes from this site make a wonderful meal (lots of veggies to offset some of that fat)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This is very similar to the recipe I use. I add the dry mustard and I use a can of Italian style Stewed tomatoes on top prior to putting in the oven. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This is my standby recipe for mac and cheese and it is awesome. Today I added some sauteed onions, peppers, and sausage, and a little spicy mustard and used half provolone and half mozzarella cheese to make a sausage and peppers inspired mac and cheese. I'm going to add garlic, parsley, and a little parmesan to the bread crumbs to make the crust like garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I made this last year for ThanksGiving and my family & friends were quick to make it a tradition so this will be year 2 with this great dish... and whoever said "who makes low cal mac & cheese" I agree completely =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I split the 3 cups of milk with half and half.. So creamy! I also add some onions (fresh or flakes) to the butter and cook them.. A little cayenne pepper gives it a kick.. Lately instead of the parm cheeseI have been throwing in some Asiago cheese. It's a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I add 1/2 cup of sour cream and 1/2 tsp. dry mustard to my Mac n Cheese. Other than that, this recipe is the closest to mine that I've seen. You can't forget the dry mustard, even if you don't have the sour cream, I would have given this 5 stars if it would have had dry mustard as an ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jfaherty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I just made a non-dairy version of this and my sauce is already very thick just from melting the cheese, can't imagine what it will be like once I bake it...looking forward to it!!! I followed another reviewers suggestions and added the dry mustard, onion and garlic powder, a little salt, pepper and seasonall....DELICIOUS!!! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I loved it, my kids loved it! Followed the same outline above except I added a couple things 12 ounces uncooked elbow macaroni 2.5 cups shredded sharp Cheddar cheese 3/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese 3 cups milk onion powder dry mustard paprika salt white pepper 2 1/2 tablespoons all-purpose flour 2 tablespoons butter 3/4 cup Italian style bread crumbs paprika i mixed onion, paprika, salt, pepper in with the cheese sauce, it wasn't as runny as i thought it would be either(reading other reviews). Overall I loved it, my kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Incredible. Yes its a high calorie dish, its pasta and cheese! I used smaller portions and had a nice side of a half a plate of steamed broccoli and asparagus to give it a healthy kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Bedford, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 827) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States