Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Nice recipe! I changed it and took the advise of others. I had 2 cups whole milk, 1 cup sour cream, the cheeses stayed the same, and for spices 1 teaspoon of: paprika, onion salt, garlic powder and mild chilli powder. Also a bit of salt and pepper. It came out really nice! It was a little red because of the amount of paprika, but delicious and would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sammy
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I added evaporated milk and a pinch of mustard powder as suggested, cuz it was my first and I really wanted to get it right, but it was bland... :( so creamy and beautiful, but frankly, the stuff that comes in a box is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
The bread crumb topping just turned into a sandy texture that went throughout the dish, and detracted from everything. I think I overdid the roux and it went sandy too, making it worse. Advice on fixing that would be welcome. We went for sharp cheddar, but would definitely go for extra sharp next time. I'm not sure that the Parmesan adds anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
A great recipe! I've tried Alton Brown's recipe (tempering the egg was tricky) and others using gruyere cheese but this is definitely going to be my go-to from now on! I added some diced vidalia onion to the butter in the first step for more flavor, added some dry mustard before adding the cheese as some others suggested and used penne pasta because it was all I had. I think the larger pasta works very well with this - absorbs more and prevents the sauce from becoming too "gluey" between the noodles. Make sure to undercook the noodles by a couple minutes and rinse in cold water so they finish in the oven and don't get mushy. The only other change I made was that I sprinkled a layer of dry panko on top and used a thin drizzle of olive oil to prevent it from getting too dry in the oven. It worked perfectly and allowed me to use just a tad less butter overall. My husband and 3 sons just gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Delicious indeed. Next time I will make the following changes: use homemade breadcrumbs or panko, undercook the macaroni by two minutes, use a stronger-flavored cheese instead of Parmesan, and add some herbs. I doubled the recipe and it filled a 9x13 pan perfectly to the brim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
This is the only mac and cheese recipe that I make, it is fastly superior to any others I have tried! Toast bread and then chop up to make the bread crumbs, then toast in butter as described for the best result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samantha O'Harney
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
absolutely delicious, got to be the best mac n cheese I've ever made. Mmmmmm yummy yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I ended up needing a little more flour than what was called for to get the sauce to thicken to my liking. I subbed in an eyeballed amount of blue cheese instead of the half cup of the Parmesan for some extra bite. I also doubled the recipe so I could use up a full box of pasta, which filled a deep dish 9x13 pan perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I've made this for the second time now and the kids love it! This will likley be the dish that I make to take to church dinners and get togethers :) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Really happy with the outcome of this recipe!! As others have mentioned, don't worry about the mixture looking too runny before you put the dish in the oven -- it will come out really creamy and thick! We adjusted the recipe just a little. First, we used 2 cups of heavy cream and 1/2 cup of milk -- Creaminess turned out beautifully. In addition, we used 1 cup parmesan, 1/2 cup gouda, and 1 cup sharp white cheddar cheeses. We wanted to grate the cheese freshly and honestly just grabbed what was least expensive in the cheese cooler at the store. What made a huge difference in taste for us was adding fresh grated black pepper (to taste) and herbs de provence (maybe a teaspoon into the creamy cheese mixture on the stove? -- basil, fennel, marjoram, parsley, rosemary, lavender, tarragon, and thyme -- you can get this in the Organics brand... I promise it's worth it!!). We will for sure be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 992) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States