Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
The cheese I normally use for my mac and cheese is no longer available so I'm trying out new recipes. My husband made this recipe tonight. He did overcook the noodles (I recommend under cooking them before they go in the oven because they soak up the cheese sauce) but we both felt there was very little flavor. It did taste rich, but as for actual flavor, the main thing we tasted were the toasted bread crumbs. We followed the recipe to the letter and didn't do any substitutions. It was saucy, which is good, but very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
http://d704292h1b3jehffse1jv6ek8o.hop.clickbank.net/?tid=1960
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Honestly this is a great base recipe for mac-n-cheese but it is very bland and needs some sort of seasonings - it has plenty of cheese and the texture is fine but it really needs salt and something else (just not sure what that something else is)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
My first time making Mac n cheese. This recipe was super easy and came out great! The proportions were perfect. I added some garlic powder and pepper as well. Will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I love this recipe! I use coconut oil instead of butter, and even then I use just 3 tablespoons of coconut oil then the 1/4 cup they call for butter. And I also use unsweetened original flavored almond milk instead of "real" milk. And I honestly don't think you need 2 1/2 cups of cheese, but it's all about personal preference, I'm sure some people use even more, but I usually use about a 1 1/2 cups. The only reason I alter anything about this recipe is to help me feel a little better about eating something that's not so calorie friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great recipe. I added more elbow macaroni (12 oz) but keep the rest the same. I did add some onion powder and garlic salt and it was great. i didn't have any breadcrumbs but didn't miss it. As I said it was great. I'm going to get so fat. ^-^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I got so tired of the same old boxed mac&cheese i thought i'd give this recipe a whirl. woohoo. i'm such a good cook, well, good at following directions to this wonderful recipe. The sauce was so creamy and rich. I added minced garlic with the bread crumbs (I actually used "panko") and it created a great layer on top. It was such a big hit. I will most definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Satoka Oiwa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I was not a big fan on the taste. I don't know if it was because I used mild cheddar instead of sharp or if I messed up the roux or if it just isn't a great recipe. One think to note is that the sauce is not only really thin, but a LOT! I saved some back because it seemed like WAY too much and it was really dry when I checked it... I added the rest of it along with some cheese on top but I still was not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
we love this dish! it's so tasty as leftovers too. as far as people saying it's bland, I don't have that problem. perhaps it's the type of cheese they are using. I use block cheddar cheese & parmesan. I shred it in the food processor. I think the preshredded cheese is not as flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 862) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States