Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2000
Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2000
This is the best Mac and Cheese recipe I've found. It can be a little time consuming while making the roux and melting the cheese, but the results are astounding. I've made this several times and it's become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
This recipe was just the thing to impress my boss, who loved the old-fashioned flavor. I did add the ground mustard, and mixed a few different cheeses for added flavor. I also substituted heavy cream for about a third of the milk, and it really added to the rich taste. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Great easy Mac & Cheese, my family loves it and that is a tough sell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
This was an awesome recipe, but like most people I added about 2 1/2 cup of cheese, instead of only 2 cups. I found that 1/2 of bread crumbs was too much, so next time I'm not going to add so much. Great leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Nice and cheesy but a tad bland, so I added 1 Tablespoon dijon mustard and a dash of garlic powder. very nice! Doubled well with no adjustments. I also used two thirds skim milk and one third half and half because I like my mac and cheese very rich. Probably could have gone even heavier for my tastes, but most folks probably would like it a little lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Mmmmmm good!! And so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
great mac and cheese recipe the only thing I did differently was not add the parmesan , my husband does not like it, or the paprika other than that it's excellent we eat it at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYANJENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lachute, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
my kids love mac and cheese. I add 1/4 cup sour cream and 4 slices cooked bacon thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
loved this recipe, doubled it with no problems. however, it may have turned out better due to the following changes I made: only 1/2 cup of milk, with 2 cups of evaporated milk and 1/2 cup sour cream for a creamier texture. added a clove of garlic, 1 diced sauteed onion and some spices to the sauce as the recipe seemed sort of bland with just the milk, roux and cheeses. and for the topping I used crushed croutons browned in butter. this is a very quick and simple recipe that I will turn to again! but I definitely recommend adding something a little extra to your sauce if you want something a little more tasty. and the croutons turned out a lot crunchier on top than the baked breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 878) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States