Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
So I made a few tweaks to this, after reading many of the reviews. Changes I made: I added a dash of salt, a teaspoon of garlic powder, 1 1/2 teaspoons onion powder instead of onions, 2 or so teaspoons dijon mustard. I used a whole can of evaporated milk (1 1/2 cups), half cup sour cream, one cup milk. Added half cup ish of swiss cheese as well. Used 2 cups noodles so just over 8oz. Instead of bread crumbs (can't stand them on pasta) I baked some hickory bacon at 425 for 23 minutes, and broke it into pieces before baking the whole thing. It was PHENOMENAL! The only complaint was from the 14 year old who thought we should cut the onion and dijon a smidge next time. I will be making this again. Thanks for the base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A.Leopard
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Really good tasting and simple to make recipe! Wanted a yummy comfort food but in not much time, this was it! Sauce thickened up nicely even when made with nonfat milk. Kids devoured it! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Leopard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Thanksgiving dinner was extra fun this year because this mac and cheese was all the rave! I still have friend and family calling to see if I have leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shash
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Awesome recipe!! i didnt have bread crumbs, so made it without them still came out so well. loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Great mac n' cheese dish! I've used this recipe for a couple of years, and it's a huge hit for my wife and kids. For a richer and more savory dish, throw in some bacon, and use some extra cheese (I like Gouda for a more "grown-up" flavor). I don't believe mac n' cheese can be too cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I just made this and it's great. I made some changes as another user recommended. I used 1/2 c of milk, 2 cups of evaporated milk, 1 tbs of dry mustard, and 1/2 c of sour cream. Amazing! My new Mac n cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Family favorite at my house! I make it for all of our holiday dinners. I follow the exact recipe. Don't be alarmed when it seems runny before baking. The first time I made it I drained some of the liquid before baking bc I thought it seemed way too runny but that was a mistake. Leave it the way it is :-) Mmm, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kingston, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My fave. So easy to do! I added more types of cheese but everything else was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mskenya27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I loved this recipe. I made it exactly as listed. I'd never made Mac and cheese with parmesan cheese and I thought it was delicious. I made sure I used only 8 oz of pasta so it would not be dry with too much pasta. It came out so creamy. I will make my Mac and cheese like this from now on. Thanks for a wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sydfen07
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I halved this recipe and it turned out very well!! Although i wouldn't recommend using rice bread crumbs because they were a bit stiff. Loved the Mac and cheese!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,001) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States