Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
It worked as a base recipe (which is what it purported to be). A dash of salt and pepper to each serving made the basic dish perfect. I'll try other additions in the future; it is definitively good enough to make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Argueta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly the way it was written.......AMAZING! My boys loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I've never actually made Mac and cheese outside of using Kraft and thought it was about time I tired. The only altering I did was I use crushed croutons in place of bread crumbs. (I don't eat bread)I added 2 finely sliced green chilies and a dash of chili powder. I like fire in my food but not so much fire I can't taste what I've cooked. Anyway....perfection. 30 minutes later and I have a golden brown, homemade mac and cheese. Thanks for the recipe. I only gave the recipe a 4 because I had to add salt, white pepper, chiliees and chili powder....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Collinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This was an easy first attempt at homemade mac and cheese. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Pros: delicious, very saucey (which I love!) and was pretty easy to throw together. Not going to lie, seeing "roux" made me hesitant at first but after a quick Google search I felt confident. Also my husband loved it! Cons: it came out a little gritty. I'm not sure if I messed up the roux but I did follow the directions to a T. Sadly this was way too rich for me and gave me an upset stomach. Even though I won't be making this again it was still very good, but be careful if you have a sensitive stomach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lc710
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
It was just ok! From reading the past reviews I think next time I'll try the evaporated milk instead of regular milk. I used Cabot Vermont Sharp Cheddar cheese and it all separated so I'll try that to see if that helps. Instead of half a box of elbow noodles (8oz) I used the whole box (16oz).. Your choice in bread crumbs also will depend on the flavor. I used the Pepperidge Farm Italian bread crumbs (the blue bag) and it was the best part!! Yum! Adding a bit more cheese too might help! Needs some tweaking, but not an awful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I love this recipe. First time I made it, I followed the recipe as is, however, several variations later I've found a couple great changes. I substitute a cup of milk for 1 cup of heavy whipping cream. I also add a pinch of ancho chili to the mix. Lastly, I used Italian seasoning bread crumbs and just sprinkled it on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Utterly decadent :) I used real butter with this recipe. I did not alter the ingredients in any way. The sauce is a bit runny when you initially pour it on, but after baking it is thick. I loved it. Plugged it on both my Facebook accounts too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I used the crumbs from the cornbread I made the other night, and doubled the amount of breadcrumbs. Dish turned out perfectly; the whole family raved about it! Even our incredibly picky eleven-year-old loved it. Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Have been looking for that perfect Mac and Cheese... I have tried several recipes.. Finally found the one! I used about 12.5 oz just because that is what I had on hand. Increased the flour to 3 full tbsps, increased the chedder to 3 cups and 1 cup of mozza (i love cheese)I read the reviews first and took some of their suggestions. I added about a tsp of powdered mustard and onion powder. The sauce was very runny, but one cooked, it was perfect. I added the bread crumbs and paprika in the last 10 minutes. If you like a lot of crunch, you could easily double that part of the recipe. This recipe will be a repeat one for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 954) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States