Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made this for Christmas yesterday. I sort of used this as a guideline, since this was my first time making homemade mac n cheese. I used a lot of the tips I read in the reviews and I doubled the recipe. Instead of three cups of milk, I used one part milk, one part condensed milk and one part sour cream. I also ended up using two pounds of medium cheddar and one pound Colby cheese (In my defense, I did double the whole recipe :P). I didnt use the colby cheese for the sauce, I sprinkled it over top. For seasoning, I used a tablespoon of dry mustard and two tablespoons of worchestsire sauce to the cheese sauce. For the topping, crushed Ritz crackers. I also used the spiral noodles instead of elbow. This was so delicious, I was very surprised it came out so yummy! Definitely saving this one in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Adding some mushrooms to the mix tastes amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by myexperiments
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This is so good! I will say that it is probably more of a "southern" style recipe. I say this because it seems like in the South mac and cheese is very creamy. One moderation I would make is to add a little bit of salt before popping it in the oven. The paprika sprinkled on top produces a lot of flavor! Also the parmesan will make it a lottle grainy, so you may want to substitute another cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
It was sinful bliss as is.... :-) (2nd time I played with the seasonings: garlic and onion powder and powdered mustard; 1/2 tsp each was good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
After seeing how great this was rated I just had to try it! I am very disappointed to say the least. It's very bland and does not have nearly of a cheesy flavor one would expect from a Mac and Cheese dish. I definitely will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn_V
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Very good. Made for my son's teacher lunch at preschool. Additions I made- Doubled everything, lots of pepper, minced garlic, 1/2 tsp dijon, parsley in the bredcrumbs, and put under the broiler for about 3 minutes at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this recipe with a few modifications... My husband eats gluten-free, so I made it with gluten-free rotini (which I had on hand), and gluten-free flour for the roux. I thought it would taste a little rice-ish, but it was just fine. I shred my own cheese, so I used a block of cheddar cheese for that, and your standard Parmesan cheese. I can't help but think that if I had actually had some shredded Parmesan on hand, it would've been a bit tastier. The Parmesan seemed to get lost in the recipe. I agree with the addition of mustard. It gives it a nice tang that cuts through the ultra-cheesy flavor. All in all? A keeper. I will be making this mac 'n cheese again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luz E. Kessler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Tried this recipe tonight and it was bland. I think if I do it again, that i would reduce the milk and up the cheese. maybe try evaporated milk as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vanessa
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
It was super yummy! I added ritz crackers in the breadcrumbs and added some cream to the milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 974) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States