Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
A great recipe! I've tried Alton Brown's recipe (tempering the egg was tricky) and others using gruyere cheese but this is definitely going to be my go-to from now on! I added some diced vidalia onion to the butter in the first step for more flavor, added some dry mustard before adding the cheese as some others suggested and used penne pasta because it was all I had. I think the larger pasta works very well with this - absorbs more and prevents the sauce from becoming too "gluey" between the noodles. Make sure to undercook the noodles by a couple minutes and rinse in cold water so they finish in the oven and don't get mushy. The only other change I made was that I sprinkled a layer of dry panko on top and used a thin drizzle of olive oil to prevent it from getting too dry in the oven. It worked perfectly and allowed me to use just a tad less butter overall. My husband and 3 sons just gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Delicious indeed. Next time I will make the following changes: use homemade breadcrumbs or panko, undercook the macaroni by two minutes, use a stronger-flavored cheese instead of Parmesan, and add some herbs. I doubled the recipe and it filled a 9x13 pan perfectly to the brim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
This is the only mac and cheese recipe that I make, it is fastly superior to any others I have tried! Toast bread and then chop up to make the bread crumbs, then toast in butter as described for the best result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samantha O'Harney
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
absolutely delicious, got to be the best mac n cheese I've ever made. Mmmmmm yummy yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I ended up needing a little more flour than what was called for to get the sauce to thicken to my liking. I subbed in an eyeballed amount of blue cheese instead of the half cup of the Parmesan for some extra bite. I also doubled the recipe so I could use up a full box of pasta, which filled a deep dish 9x13 pan perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I've made this for the second time now and the kids love it! This will likley be the dish that I make to take to church dinners and get togethers :) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Really happy with the outcome of this recipe!! As others have mentioned, don't worry about the mixture looking too runny before you put the dish in the oven -- it will come out really creamy and thick! We adjusted the recipe just a little. First, we used 2 cups of heavy cream and 1/2 cup of milk -- Creaminess turned out beautifully. In addition, we used 1 cup parmesan, 1/2 cup gouda, and 1 cup sharp white cheddar cheeses. We wanted to grate the cheese freshly and honestly just grabbed what was least expensive in the cheese cooler at the store. What made a huge difference in taste for us was adding fresh grated black pepper (to taste) and herbs de provence (maybe a teaspoon into the creamy cheese mixture on the stove? -- basil, fennel, marjoram, parsley, rosemary, lavender, tarragon, and thyme -- you can get this in the Organics brand... I promise it's worth it!!). We will for sure be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This is an awesome recipe for someone who is just sort of starting out and while I think there should be better instructions on how to make the roux, it's an over all simple, yummy treat for an in a pinch supper idea. Now I haven't played with any of the other foodies ideas but I do like to add some herbs, salt and pepper, and a little extra butter, and some cream cheese to mine. I don't find this dish tasteless or bland I think it's so creamy and rich and mine has a lot of flavor. I think is an awesome base for some creative tinkering. ^^ (have some in the oven right now~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Lynn MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
It wasn't what I expected at all. It was super soupy and the parmesan cheese never melted so it was gritty and clumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
The definitive macaroni and cheese recipe. 5 stars and then some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,009) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States