Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 24)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Delish! I used a blend of cheddar, marble with garlic and Parmesan cheeses for the sauce. Instead of bread crumbs (we didn't have any on hand), used crushed Ritz crackers and I added a dash of herbs de Provence to the "bread crumb" topping. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Well that's what I'm talking about, really good mac & cheese. I used seasoned croutons for the top, crushed them and sprinkled on top, gave it that extra kick instead of paprika. As I write this there is another batch in the oven. My 8 yr old daughter didn't like it . Well 3 out of 4 ain't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnnyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Whippany, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Excellent recipe and we will definitely be making it again! It was not lacking in flavor and makes for a great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I tend to choose my recipes based on reviews, so I really don't like when people give a negative review then go on to state all the ways in which they deviated from the original recipe. Well, this time, that's me. As I tasted as I went, I had no choice but to make some adjustments. It ended up being decent, but only because I changed a) the amount of milk and butter b) cooking time and most importantly, to the cheese sauce, I added lots of black pepper, salt, cayenne, dry mustard and garlic. Or in other words, flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This sounds good except for having onion in it. I wasn't raised with onion being in this dish so I would omit that. Everything else is like my mom made it. Not fond of the onion taste at all. Without the onion I would vote high on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I made this for the first time tonight but substituted 1 can of Campbell's Creamy Nacho Soup for one cup of milk (I doubled the recipe first). What a tasty thing! The dish came out great! All the folks before me that mentioned that the sauce was runny to begin with but sets up is correct. I thought the same thing but did not have an issue with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This mac and cheese came out way too milky for me, I don't know if anyone else's came out that way. I followed the recipe but it just tasted too much like milk. It also tasted like it was missing something, but I don't know what. It was ok, but I was just not a fan, I was hoping for more of a cheese flavor, and it lacked that for me. Oh well, I will try another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I tripled this recipe for a recent dinner party. To say it was a hit would be an understatement. It's rich, delicious, and easy to make. I used Panko bread crumbs for the topping and sprinkled a little additional Parmesan cheese on top before baking. Woman love mac and cheese more than 50 Shades Of Grey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I offered to my little boy that I'd make him ANY treat he wanted if he hurried through his chores Saturday morning, I was expecting cookies, cupcakes or bars, but he asked for "real mac n cheese, not from a box!" "Umm, OK." So I popped onto my handy allrecipes app, and once again you pulled through for me! I was really worried because every time I'd ever had homemade mac it was at a buffet with way over cooked noodles, or when a family member made it, it was just dried up noodles with melted and dried cheese, with milk literally poured over the top of it. Needless to say I was pretty nervous. I didn't have Parmesan, or cheddar, just some Colby and Jack, and I didn't have bread or bread crumbs, but I went ahead with the modified recipe, buddy was charging through his chores! I doubled the recipe and baked it in a glass 9x13 casserole. I made sure to cook the noodles al dente, when I popped it into the oven my son finished his chores and pouted looking at the empty pot, he'd though he'd missed out, but he was thrilled to see it baking away in the oven. We had a big sit down lunch, all 5 of us, and everyone filled their bellies while ohhing and awwing about the yummy pasta. There was plenty left for dinner, so I mixed it with the left over California mix steamed veggies, and there was dinner! Success! Thanks Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarefootMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Kristie
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I made this recipe exactly and it was yummy! I agree, it needs some salt or "spice" but I would totally make it again! All my kids and hubby loved it too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 231-240 (of 827) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States