Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 21)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This wasn't cheesy enough..my kids were disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I made this recipe for my granddaughter's 5th birthday dinner. I used the variations mentioned by others: evaporated milk and sour cream along with milk to create a creamy sauce. I added mustard as suggested and, for additional flavor, added a half pound of cooked and crumbled bacon. I wanted to use good cheeses so decided on 1 cup of white Cheddar, and 1 cup of smoked Gruyere along with shaved Parmesan. I did use panko on the top. The smoked Gruyere was a good combination with the bacon and this was a hit! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
My friend and I made this mac and cheese one evening along with ribs, mashed potatoes, and dinner rolls. Mmm, it sure hit the spot. We followed this recipe spot on, except with two subsitutions. We fried bacon and chopped that up and sprinkled it in there. We baked that for 20 minutes then topped it with some Frenchs Fried Onions. Then baked 5-7 more minutes. Needless to say it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malwalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Calls for way too much milk. I ended up adding much more flour and cheese to thicken up the sauce a good bit. It was still macaroni soup, but at least it was thick macaroni soup. Even if I hadn't added the extra flour and cheese, there would've been as much sauce as macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
this is an awesome mac and cheese recipe!!! Although;I must admit that I added crumbled bacon to the top and what a great choice that was
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Family loved it. The sauce seems a little runny at first but is absorbed into the pasta when baked. I used small shell pasta and it held on to some of that yummy runny cheesey goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I'm a mom of four who is trying to cook home meals more often and I was so disappointed by the lack of flavor. I took the advice if one of the other reviewers and doubled and saved for later. Its in the fridge cause I don't want to throw away, but no one wants to eat it, not my hungry husband, not my mac and. cheese loving kids. What a waste of macaroni noodles, cheese, and my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Lee Gunn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
My gypsy lass & I found this to be dry when the recipe was followed. However the flavor was there. We'll try to resurrect it by hydrating with milk & half and half. There are way too many mac/cheese recipes out there to risk trying this one again, even if the outcome was somehow our fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaptain Kook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fife, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Best ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crickett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
My husband ate all that I made (he eats anything though) but I wasn't too fond of it. The macaroni seemed to be mushy after I got it out of the oven and it wasn't cheesy enough for my liking. Thanks for the recipe though. It was fun to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 201-210 (of 878) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States