Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I just made this recipe. I didn't have milk and couldn't run out to get some in the middle of a snow storm. I love it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THERANNA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boucherville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was great. We all loved it ! I will be making it again real soon ! Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Tried this recipe Friday night loved it so delicious i had 3 helpings I say four stars yumm !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This is a good basic recipe. I saute some onion in the butter, and add the milk, and a little "gravy" flour to thicken, then add the 8 oz sharp cheese, that melts into the milk and onion. Sometimes I grate different kinds of cheeses and add. I tried using the Parmesan, no one was too crazy about that. I also add more cheese on top before I bake, and bread crumbs. My family pretty much devours it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mataji

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I don't usually leave reviews, but felt I had to after making this dish for my boyfriend last night. It turned out pretty bad - very mushy and grainy (almost curdled in texture) bc of the Parmesan cheese. I don't know why anyone hasn't mentioned this, but the macaroni should be undercooked before putting it in the oven, bc it continues to cook while in the oven for 30 min and ends up really mushy! The overall taste was pretty bland too, considering all the cheese in there (sharp cheeses, like old cheddar and parm, no less!). The bread crumbs were weird, nice and crunchy in parts but mostly just got absorbed into the body of the dish...would consider adding when casserole is almost cooked, for like the last 10 min to get an actual crispy crust. Very disappointing - would not make again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
For this recipe I broke my cardinal rule of making the recipe, as written the first time. I took some of the other reviewers suggestions and added a tin of evaporated milk, using whole milk to make up the rest of the 3 cups. I also added some garlic powder and dry mustard to the sauce, topping the mac n' cheese with smoked paprika and Ritz crackers, mixed with melted butter. Crazy good. Could've used a little more salt to bring out the flavours but it was well received by everyone and my wife even had "thirds". Will make again, but only for special occasions. This recipe could be deadly if eaten on a regular basis ha, ha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This is pretty basic mac & cheese. But somehow it does turn out very creamy and delicious!! I think it might be the addition of the parmesan cheese. But it is truly yummy. For those looking for that missing little "something", try adding a dash of freshly grated nutmeg into your cheese sauce. It adds that subtle yet impressive 'wow' factor that some of you seem to be missing in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This was awful. No taste and grainy cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I have never made home made Mac and Cheese.... It was the best ever. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I like the base. Next time I will heat the milk before adding it. I also think I would like it with more cheese. I WILL try this again as I did like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaPizza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trabuco Canyon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 888) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States