Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This is a great recipe. It is similar to my mom's over 50 years ago!! We used canned evaporated skim milk in ours and it was very rich and creamy. Also, I like tomato slices on the top. Yum Yum Yum. Thanks for this recipe reminder that I had just forgotten over the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Corbett Balach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carnegie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
A very good mac and cheese recipe with ingredients I usually have on hand. I liked that this started with making a roux for the sauce. I think that helped make it very creamy. The leftovers of this reheated very nicely with separating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was very yummy and my husband said it was just like his mom used to make. I used the entire 16oz box of macaroni and added 1/2 teaspoon of pepper to the cheese mixture. I also upped the breadcrumbs to 3/4 cup as we both like the crunchy topping. I think next time I'll add more cheese to the top and maybe some garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Really good, I enjoyed the crumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I found this recipe Really helpful and when I made it, it turned out perfect! There was only one thing I changed and it was that I used 1 ½ c. Half and Half and 1 ½ c. Milk instead of just 3 cups of milk. But other than that it turned out very nice. I love to cook and I will highly recommend this recipe to Anyone that wished to make some good homemade Mac & Cheese. The bread crumbs gave it a nice crisp on the top but it wasn’t too overpowering. When I made this for my family, they kept going back for more and that night I wished I made multiple servings of this spectacular dish. I also didn’t mix the butter with the bread crumbs because I didn’t feel like it was necessary to add more fattening things when 2 c. of cheese was already added. I simply sprinkled the breadcrumbs over the top before baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
It came out delicious! The only things i did differently was that i added only about 2 1/4 cups of milk, i added a bit of mustard, and i also sprinkled some more cheddar and parmesan on top of the dish, right before i added the breadcrumbs. Everyone in my house loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I loved this Mac and cheese. But I was a little confused by the 1/4 cup butter and 2-1/2 T. Flour called for in the recipe. Then later in the instructions, we were told to "stir in enough flour to make a roux." Please be advised that flour and butter should be in equal proportions for a roux: 2 T. Butter to 2 T. Flour. Besides that little problem, this was amazingly tasty!!! I loved the buttery bread crumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I only used the measurements which worked perfectly. I used smoked gouda, aged Irish cheddar,sweet cheddar. Mixed siracha and garlic black pepper into the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Make this really special by substituting one cup of heavy whipping cream for one of the cups of milk!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I made this recipe for some of my friends in college. I figured I'd give them all a nice home cooked meal, as everyone was getting homesick. Made this for about half of the floor, and everyone LOVED it. It was all gone in about 30 minutes tops, and everyone went for seconds or thirds. Definitely a huge hit, and will have to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srogale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 984) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States