Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Loved it! Ijust doubled the ingredients and used Cheddar, Parmesan and Pepper Jack.. yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I substituted 1 cup of evaporated milk, used white pepper and garlic powder. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I love this recipe.... and it gets 5 stars because I know to add about 2" chunk of Velveeta Cheese cut into small pieces and added to the cheese sauce. This makes the cheese sauce nice and creamy!!! Thank you for a great recipe. It was loved this Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The best mac n cheese I have ever had!!! Everyone loved it on Thanksgiving. The only change I made was I did sharp and mild cheddar with the parmesan cheese and adjusted the recipe for 6 servings in a 9x13 dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLC2230

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Simple but yummy Mac and cheese. Only thing I might change next time is I might not use butter in the bread crumbs as mine turned out a little too "oily". Thought if I omit butter and just sprinkle bread crumbs on top, that might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This recipe was just ok, it was very bland. I will use this recipe again as a base but will defiantly add some other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Did not like, nor did any other person who tried. Wouldn't make again. The sauce tasted pretty good prior to adding macaroni but the final product was bland and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made this last night for the first time. I've never actually had homemade mac and cheese, and neither have my kids, so I don't have anything to compare to. But all I can rate about this is my own end result. I added 1 tsp of onion, garlic powders to the sauce mix and sprinkled the topping with paprika, as others suggested. Didn't have any dry mustard. I also upped the serving amount, as we are a family of 6, making it in a 9x13 pan with 6 cups dry pasta, same amount of milk, and 3 cups of cheese. Also used half evaporated milk and adjusted the butter/flour mix because there was more pasta. Used fusilli pasta as well. My biggest problem with this dish is the cheese "sauce". The texture of it was terrible, not smooth or creamy at all. I don't know if this had anything to do with my adjustments (it very well could have). But I was expecting a silkier texture. It looked flawless while it was cooking in the pot, no lumps or pieces. Also, without the spices I added, this dish would be virtually tasteless. It even seemed to need salt, even after ALL that cheese in there. Definitely a good base recipe, but needs some perking up. Follow the advice of others and add things to it to get it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made this as written and I thought it was good with a chance to be 5 stars with modifications that others have suggested. I did not have a problem with it not thickening up, it came out perfect. I would suggest using freshly grated parmesan since I found it grainy tasting using the Kraft grated parmesan in a jar. This does need some more seasonings thrown in too. Perfect recipe to doctor up to your own personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I just made this recipe. I didn't have milk and couldn't run out to get some in the middle of a snow storm. I love it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THERANNA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boucherville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 875) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States