Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
After seeing how great this was rated I just had to try it! I am very disappointed to say the least. It's very bland and does not have nearly of a cheesy flavor one would expect from a Mac and Cheese dish. I definitely will not make again. I'm very glad I did an at home trial run before making this dish for my family for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn_V
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Very good. Made for my son's teacher lunch at preschool. Additions I made- Doubled everything, lots of pepper, minced garlic, 1/2 tsp dijon, parsley in the bredcrumbs, and put under the broiler for about 3 minutes at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this recipe with a few modifications... My husband eats gluten-free, so I made it with gluten-free rotini (which I had on hand), and gluten-free flour for the roux. I thought it would taste a little rice-ish, but it was just fine. I shred my own cheese, so I used a block of cheddar cheese for that, and your standard Parmesan cheese. I can't help but think that if I had actually had some shredded Parmesan on hand, it would've been a bit tastier. The Parmesan seemed to get lost in the recipe. I agree with the addition of mustard. It gives it a nice tang that cuts through the ultra-cheesy flavor. All in all? A keeper. I will be making this mac 'n cheese again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luz E. Kessler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Tried this recipe tonight and it was bland. I think if I do it again, that i would reduce the milk and up the cheese. maybe try evaporated milk as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vanessa
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
It was super yummy! I added ritz crackers in the breadcrumbs and added some cream to the milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This was a good recipe, very creamy! Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Very very good! I used Pablo crumbs to get it nice and crunchy. I had Romano instead of Parm cheese and it was tasty. The most recent times I've made it I've thrown in some mustard powder and onion powder and paprika in the batch, not just I too. I may replace the Parm/Romano cheese with something more tangy next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Very good Mac 'n Cheese, but I will not put the bread crumbs on top again. That was a miss. Instead I top it with some great seasoning. Specifically "Kip" seasoning from Verstegen. It's a dutch seasoning blend and I can only find it at the Dutch store. "Kip" means chicken so it's chicken seasoning and it consists of salt, coriander, paprika, pepper, ginger, mace, curcumin, celery seed, cumin, cardamom, chili, onion powder, fenugreek. That adds a real nice tasty crust on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
So I made a few tweaks to this, after reading many of the reviews. Changes I made: I added a dash of salt, a teaspoon of garlic powder, 1 1/2 teaspoons onion powder instead of onions, 2 or so teaspoons dijon mustard. I used a whole can of evaporated milk (1 1/2 cups), half cup sour cream, one cup milk. Added half cup ish of swiss cheese as well. Used 2 cups noodles so just over 8oz. Instead of bread crumbs (can't stand them on pasta) I baked some hickory bacon at 425 for 23 minutes, and broke it into pieces before baking the whole thing. It was PHENOMENAL! The only complaint was from the 14 year old who thought we should cut the onion and dijon a smidge next time. I will be making this again. Thanks for the base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A.Leopard
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Really good tasting and simple to make recipe! Wanted a yummy comfort food but in not much time, this was it! Sauce thickened up nicely even when made with nonfat milk. Kids devoured it! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 939) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States