Homemade Ketchup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This reminds me of really good BBQ sauce! It was very sweet. I would like to also try it with less sugar. I used a saucepot instead which sped up the cooking process so I don't know what difference that made. You could get away without peeling the skin and straining the mixture. It would just be chunky if you like that texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Great tasting ketchup! Didn't turn out as thick as I liked so I put some of the ketchup in a sauce pot and thickened it with cornstarch. Stirred it into the rest of the ketchup and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Hagan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This turned out great! I used minced green onions, garlic, and celery instead of the garlic powder, onion powder, and celery salt. I didn't puree it because I kind of like the chunky consistency. I think next time I will try peeled pureed tomatoes and cut the sugar a bit. All in all, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is tasty! The only things I did differently were a little less sugar, a lot more cloves and substituted some roasted garlic for the powder. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Fantastic! Making this one step healthier and one step easier. I don't eat sugar or processed foods from the store. Switched out sugar for Agave, put all except tomatoes in cheese cloth, then took out after cooking, squeezing yum back in! Thanks for the recipe! One step Healthier and loving it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Chef John loved your video! I too am one more fool by making homemade ketchup, and I must say I'm sure glad I did it with your recipe. I used my own homegrown tomatoes, mashed and strained them with my "Sauce Master" so I simply measured 28oz twice (8 cups) then doubled that as I had 30 cups of puree to use up. Spices & seasonings are just right. Thanks again Chef John! Now at least I can say I've made h/m ketchup lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This was great. I didn't know making ketchup could be so easy. I substituted the 2/3 cup sugar with 1/2 cup agave. I decided I to make my own ketchup because the store bought ones all contain High Fructose Corn Syrup and I don't want that. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
LOVED this recipe! Easy, works well with adaptations (ie. apple cider vinegar ilo white, sucanat ilo regular sugar). We don't mind thick ketchup with some fiber in it so we don't strain ours =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mummyof3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is awesome ketchup. Rave reviews from everyone. Best on twice cooked french fries of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Wonderful tomato-y ketchup. I make my own ketchup all the time, along with worcestershire sauce. I am a vegan and like natural foods rather than processed. (No anchovies in my worcestershire). This has replaced my original ketchup recipe, I only remove the salt. It is well worth the time if you want your family to taste great ketchup for the first time. Anything I can make myself always tastes better. Try this you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ketchup

See how to make your own ketchup from scratch.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States