Homemade Ketchup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Wow! This recipe came out great. I have two little kids and wanted to make a ketchup without high fructose corn syrup, and to use in our homemade BBQ and sloppy joe sauces. It tastes just like the bottled stuff. I skipped the white sugar & put in 1/3 c of honey instead, to make it even less processed. Canned crushed tomatoes made it easier to strain at the end, and the consistency is pretty good. I would skip the added water next time when using the honey. This is a keeper! I'm so excited that I found this recipe & it was so easy using the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This was great. I didn't know making ketchup could be so easy. I substituted the 2/3 cup sugar with 1/2 cup agave. I decided I to make my own ketchup because the store bought ones all contain High Fructose Corn Syrup and I don't want that. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Wonderful tomato-y ketchup. I make my own ketchup all the time, along with worcestershire sauce. I am a vegan and like natural foods rather than processed. (No anchovies in my worcestershire). This has replaced my original ketchup recipe, I only remove the salt. It is well worth the time if you want your family to taste great ketchup for the first time. Anything I can make myself always tastes better. Try this you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Fantastic! Making this one step healthier and one step easier. I don't eat sugar or processed foods from the store. Switched out sugar for Agave, put all except tomatoes in cheese cloth, then took out after cooking, squeezing yum back in! Thanks for the recipe! One step Healthier and loving it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Have not tasted it post-cooking, but it smells and tastes like good ketchup as it is cooking! Just wanted to note that the ingredient list does not include cayenne, yet the directions call for adding cayenne. Perhaps other reviewers have already noted this. I had to guess at the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is awesome ketchup. Rave reviews from everyone. Best on twice cooked french fries of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Chef John loved your video! I too am one more fool by making homemade ketchup, and I must say I'm sure glad I did it with your recipe. I used my own homegrown tomatoes, mashed and strained them with my "Sauce Master" so I simply measured 28oz twice (8 cups) then doubled that as I had 30 cups of puree to use up. Spices & seasonings are just right. Thanks again Chef John! Now at least I can say I've made h/m ketchup lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
LOVED this recipe! Easy, works well with adaptations (ie. apple cider vinegar ilo white, sucanat ilo regular sugar). We don't mind thick ketchup with some fiber in it so we don't strain ours =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Great tasting ketchup! Didn't turn out as thick as I liked so I put some of the ketchup in a sauce pot and thickened it with cornstarch. Stirred it into the rest of the ketchup and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is tasty! The only things I did differently were a little less sugar, a lot more cloves and substituted some roasted garlic for the powder. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ketchup

See how to make your own ketchup from scratch.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States