Homemade Ketchup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Excellent! Used 1/3 cup honey in place of the sugar. Froze in small containers. Will never buy store bought ketchup again...EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I have made this recipe twice and followed it to the tee...except, I have used my homemade canned tomato sauce that isn't much more than blended tomatoes and water. Made it in the crockpot. The ketchup is awesome. I did not like other ketchups made with tomato paste! This works out wonderfully! Keeps for several months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gervais

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Perfect for those who want to pass on the sugar and preservatives by using Truvia and USDA organic tomatoes. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
The flavor was good, but it was so labor intensive! I just can't justify the amount of time and effort involved compared with the store bought variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I have a question ( I have not yet tried this recipe). Could this be made in large amounts and then "canned" in a water bath like other veggies and fruits. I would love to make a big batch of this to keep on my pantry shelves for future use. Thanks for any suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Thank you for this fantastic recipe! I've been looking to provide my family with heart healthy options in the way of ketchup (we love our ketchup)! Have tried many and have not been able to consume more than the first few bites of any of them! I made this less than a month ago and we are on our last few drops! I did make a few changes: swapped out the white sugar for 1/2 the amount in Truvia, crushed tomatoes instead of ground, Pink Sea Salt crystals for the table salt, and finally... left out the celery salt only because I didn't have it on hand nor find it anywhere to buy (didn't even know it existed). Got started late in the day; forgot about it cooking in the slow cooker (thankfully on low) and went to bed. Woke up Sunday morning to the most fantastic aroma wafting throughout my house! UNTIL I realized... OMG! MY KETCHUP! It turned out great though! Making second batch with the changes above and found the celery salt! Thank you so much for your hard work in putting this together for all of us to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Add me to the list of crazies. I have been making my own BBQ sauce lately so I've been going through quite a bit of catsup. Plus if I make my own catsup then my BBQ sauce is even more mine. My slow cooker was lost in a fire so this time I made it on the stove. I set my timer and stirred it about every 10 minutes. I don't have a garden or any crushed tomatoes. I did have some diced tomatoes but not enough for this recipe. I wanted to make at least this much so I used 2 14.5 oz cans of diced tomatoes ( which I put through my food processor) and 1 6 oz can of tomato paste. As mentioned by another reviewer there's no starting measurement for the cayenne so I started with 1/4 t. I didn't add any more it gives it a nice kick you won't get from Heinz but it may be a little spicy for kids (not burn their mouth spicy but possibly complaint spicy). I found I did not need to strain it I just went through it with my immersion blender (which made a huge mess because I don't have a pot tall enough that isn't way too wide to get good depth for a recipe this size). I poured it into a sterilized squeeze bottle I had saved and it squeezes out just fine. Perfect consistency. Next time I will use less sugar though or perhaps try honey it was a little sweeter than I would prefer definitely edible though. I will be making this again. Lastly I don't know if it was due to doing it on the stove or because I started with different tomato styles but i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAllen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Pretty good, but a bit too sweet. Next time I would reduce the sugar and increase the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
The flavor is perfect! The taste of vinegar is slightly less than store bought and this is a little more sweet. I think this is way better than store bought and very easy. The only alteration I made was starting with tomato sauce instead of peeled ground tomatoes and cooked it on the stove. I was able to reduce the cooking time to 2-3 hours this way and I didn't have to strain anything because it was already smooth. This will definitely be a staple in my home. I used it with cheeseburgers and fries tonight and later this week I will be making Honey BBQ with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I do a couple things just a little differently. I made a gallon, and froze the extra. Let me say that my Favorite Ketchup by Far- is the recipe for fermeted ketchup in Nourishing Traditions. It's EASY and tastes better than anything you can fathom when thinking Ketchup. But I hate to cook a fermented food and I needed a cookable Ketchup for BBQ Sauce. So- I made this, and it turned out great- but I carried over some ideas from my favorite Ketchup. To the Gallon I used 1/2 cup Fish Sauce, skipped the clove, and used 1 cup honey in place of 2 cups sugar. I used some red wine and some white wine vinegar (just because it's what I had)- it turned out as good as Heinz, and Almost as good at the Fermented stuff I make from NT. Good stuff- no corn syrup, no junk. Also, if you used strained tomatoes you don't have to strain when you're done. Just put all the ingredients in the crock pot, leave the lid off and it's done in a few hours. Worth it- as long as you make a lot and freeze the extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ketchup

See how to make your own ketchup from scratch.

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States