Homemade Ketchup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Pretty good, but a bit too sweet. Next time I would reduce the sugar and increase the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
The flavor is perfect! The taste of vinegar is slightly less than store bought and this is a little more sweet. I think this is way better than store bought and very easy. The only alteration I made was starting with tomato sauce instead of peeled ground tomatoes and cooked it on the stove. I was able to reduce the cooking time to 2-3 hours this way and I didn't have to strain anything because it was already smooth. This will definitely be a staple in my home. I used it with cheeseburgers and fries tonight and later this week I will be making Honey BBQ with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I do a couple things just a little differently. I made a gallon, and froze the extra. Let me say that my Favorite Ketchup by Far- is the recipe for fermeted ketchup in Nourishing Traditions. It's EASY and tastes better than anything you can fathom when thinking Ketchup. But I hate to cook a fermented food and I needed a cookable Ketchup for BBQ Sauce. So- I made this, and it turned out great- but I carried over some ideas from my favorite Ketchup. To the Gallon I used 1/2 cup Fish Sauce, skipped the clove, and used 1 cup honey in place of 2 cups sugar. I used some red wine and some white wine vinegar (just because it's what I had)- it turned out as good as Heinz, and Almost as good at the Fermented stuff I make from NT. Good stuff- no corn syrup, no junk. Also, if you used strained tomatoes you don't have to strain when you're done. Just put all the ingredients in the crock pot, leave the lid off and it's done in a few hours. Worth it- as long as you make a lot and freeze the extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Wow! This recipe came out great. I have two little kids and wanted to make a ketchup without high fructose corn syrup, and to use in our homemade BBQ and sloppy joe sauces. It tastes just like the bottled stuff. I skipped the white sugar & put in 1/3 c of honey instead, to make it even less processed. Canned crushed tomatoes made it easier to strain at the end, and the consistency is pretty good. I would skip the added water next time when using the honey. This is a keeper! I'm so excited that I found this recipe & it was so easy using the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This was great. I didn't know making ketchup could be so easy. I substituted the 2/3 cup sugar with 1/2 cup agave. I decided I to make my own ketchup because the store bought ones all contain High Fructose Corn Syrup and I don't want that. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Wonderful tomato-y ketchup. I make my own ketchup all the time, along with worcestershire sauce. I am a vegan and like natural foods rather than processed. (No anchovies in my worcestershire). This has replaced my original ketchup recipe, I only remove the salt. It is well worth the time if you want your family to taste great ketchup for the first time. Anything I can make myself always tastes better. Try this you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Fantastic! Making this one step healthier and one step easier. I don't eat sugar or processed foods from the store. Switched out sugar for Agave, put all except tomatoes in cheese cloth, then took out after cooking, squeezing yum back in! Thanks for the recipe! One step Healthier and loving it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Have not tasted it post-cooking, but it smells and tastes like good ketchup as it is cooking! Just wanted to note that the ingredient list does not include cayenne, yet the directions call for adding cayenne. Perhaps other reviewers have already noted this. I had to guess at the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is awesome ketchup. Rave reviews from everyone. Best on twice cooked french fries of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Chef John loved your video! I too am one more fool by making homemade ketchup, and I must say I'm sure glad I did it with your recipe. I used my own homegrown tomatoes, mashed and strained them with my "Sauce Master" so I simply measured 28oz twice (8 cups) then doubled that as I had 30 cups of puree to use up. Spices & seasonings are just right. Thanks again Chef John! Now at least I can say I've made h/m ketchup lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ketchup

See how to make your own ketchup from scratch.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States