Homemade Ketchup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This was a good way to use my many tomatoes. Very Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Buckler
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Great recipe! I had to change a couple of things based on what I had in my pantry and I cut the sugar in half. Love it though! So happy to have found an easy AND tasty recipe for ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Buckler

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This was very easy and tasted fresh, not sugary. Great use of the slow cooker. Made a really good seafood sauce using this as a base. I haven't tried freezing it yet but will repost if it is successful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I am super picky about ketchup and this is PERFECT! I made it with a 29 oz. can of tomato sauce so I didn't have to strain anything, and I needed to have it sugar-free, so I used Splenda, and it is absolutely spot on for that top-brand flavor! I hated the idea of high fructose corn syrup, and Hubs cannot have sugar, so I've been looking for a good recipe, and this is a GREAT one! It cooked overnight in my slow cooker. I just have one question: can I can this in larger quantities?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Excellent recipe! The only change I made was the sugar amount which I lowered to just under a half a cup. You can always add. About 8 hours in I tasted and added another Tablespoon and if was perfect. Different tomatoes have different tartness. My son did not know it was homemade and pulled the bottle for fries, hd asked if the name brand changed and was glad they did. I may now have to make this recipe for the remainder of my days, lol. Enjoy it because as my son said "it is the BOMB!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This is definitely ketchup. How did I do that? Wow! So I couldn't figure outwhat ground tomatoes are and took the advice of another reviewer and used crushed tomatoes. Then I actually watched the video(I don't usually) and he used crushed tomatoes I believe. Anyways, it was super easy, but after 10 hours I tried to strain it and it was watery. I put it back in the crockpot and am going to cook it down some more but the taste is perfect. Tried it with some eggs and other than being watery still, it was exactly ketchup. No more no less. My child puts this ish on everything so I wanted to make a less sugary version for him and this was awesome. Thanks Chef John! Update: yeah you're right, making ketchup IS crazy. It was still watery but no doubt ketchup tasting. My child wasn't too impressed. Instead I mixed it in a lentil soup and it improved it times 10. I still appreciate you Chef John. Sincerely, Crazy ketchup maker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Feeda DaFamilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I love this recipe. I omitted the salt entirely and it tastes really great. It's fun to do as well. The taste, consistency and color are all perfect! I believe homemade mustard and mayo is next. Thanks a million Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
First a quick note: if you are considering this for the first time and are looking at your standard-size cans of tomatoes: the recipe does call for 56 oz of canned tomatoes (so 4 regular size or 2 large size). Pretty spot on ketchup flavor, my kids were surprised when they tasted it. I did make some adjustments/changes 'though. I used brown sugar and used a little less, I used cider vinegar instead of white, used 1t of garlic powder instead of 1/2, cut back the salt to 1t and used maybe 1/16t (or just a dash) of ground cloves and added 1T of oyster sauce (fish sauce would also work). My wife despises seafood, but she has no idea there is oyster sauce in it. I don't often cook from recipes, preferring to learn the whys and hows, and I think this recipe gives you a great sense of the ratio of tomato:sugar:acid to start with. And cooking in the crock pot was slooooow, but allowed me to do other things on my day off. I agree with others and if I wanted it done faster I would do it on the gas an pay attention to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
this was really good. I made it with my extra garden tomatoes, and added some of my peppers. it took a long time, but the results were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Minor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is awesome and super easy to make. It tastes better than any other store bought brand. I don't think I'll ever buy another bottled ketchup again. Both my kids and husband love it! We nearly went thru a 36oz bottle of this in a week! So...I'm happy to report that this is definitely a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Gluth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ketchup

See how to make your own ketchup from scratch.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States