Homemade Ketchup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
The only change I made was in cooking it on the stove top. I have made it this way three times and it is always delicious! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Santanello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
How easy was that to make? And so tasty. I omitted the clove, because I don't like em, and it was so good! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I have a question Re: cayenne pepper. It doesn't show in ingredients list; do you substitute the same amount as black pepper if using?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Corrigan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This was a good way to use my many tomatoes. Very Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Buckler
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Great recipe! I had to change a couple of things based on what I had in my pantry and I cut the sugar in half. Love it though! So happy to have found an easy AND tasty recipe for ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Buckler

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This was very easy and tasted fresh, not sugary. Great use of the slow cooker. Made a really good seafood sauce using this as a base. I haven't tried freezing it yet but will repost if it is successful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I am super picky about ketchup and this is PERFECT! I made it with a 29 oz. can of tomato sauce so I didn't have to strain anything, and I needed to have it sugar-free, so I used Splenda, and it is absolutely spot on for that top-brand flavor! I hated the idea of high fructose corn syrup, and Hubs cannot have sugar, so I've been looking for a good recipe, and this is a GREAT one! It cooked overnight in my slow cooker. I just have one question: can I can this in larger quantities?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Excellent recipe! The only change I made was the sugar amount which I lowered to just under a half a cup. You can always add. About 8 hours in I tasted and added another Tablespoon and if was perfect. Different tomatoes have different tartness. My son did not know it was homemade and pulled the bottle for fries, hd asked if the name brand changed and was glad they did. I may now have to make this recipe for the remainder of my days, lol. Enjoy it because as my son said "it is the BOMB!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This is definitely ketchup. How did I do that? Wow! So I couldn't figure outwhat ground tomatoes are and took the advice of another reviewer and used crushed tomatoes. Then I actually watched the video(I don't usually) and he used crushed tomatoes I believe. Anyways, it was super easy, but after 10 hours I tried to strain it and it was watery. I put it back in the crockpot and am going to cook it down some more but the taste is perfect. Tried it with some eggs and other than being watery still, it was exactly ketchup. No more no less. My child puts this ish on everything so I wanted to make a less sugary version for him and this was awesome. Thanks Chef John! Update: yeah you're right, making ketchup IS crazy. It was still watery but no doubt ketchup tasting. My child wasn't too impressed. Instead I mixed it in a lentil soup and it improved it times 10. I still appreciate you Chef John. Sincerely, Crazy ketchup maker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Feeda DaFamilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I love this recipe. I omitted the salt entirely and it tastes really great. It's fun to do as well. The taste, consistency and color are all perfect! I believe homemade mustard and mayo is next. Thanks a million Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ketchup

See how to make your own ketchup from scratch.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States