Homemade Ketchup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Made this yesterday, everyone raves about it. Only thing I did "wrong" was use white wine vinegar instead of distilled, because that's what I had on hand. I forgot - used 56 oz of fresh tomatoes from the garden and cut the water to a splash. Also used 1/2 cup instead of 2/3 cup of sugar. I would like to try this again using fresh onion and garlic - just because if it comes from my garden I feel happier about it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
So much better for you than store bought and so simple. I used tomato sauce, and we don't like celery salt, so I threw some celery in and let it cook down, also used stevia and about 1/2 the amount of sugar. Cooked down in about 2 hours on the stove top and came out perfect. I double the recipe and got about cups and it is in the hot water bath now canning! Husband said best he ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
So delicious....I just filled my crock-pot with home-grown tomatoes, crushed in my Vita-Mix. Used the same amount of ingredients but left out the water. M-m-m-m good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne LeFever

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
If I could give it 10 stars I would. Took it to a picnic and everyone loved it. I pureed mine in the food processor and it was a little chunky, but, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I had a variety of different kinds and put them all together. Cut the stem ends off, cut them up and liquefy them, skins, seeds and all. Cooking it in a crockpot for 10 hours, and having to stir every hour pretty much defeats the reason for using a crockpot. I made a batch last night, but cooked it on the stove. You have to pay attention to it, and stir every few minutes, but from the time I started chopping to the time it reduced, it was just over an hour. I did use ground clove, and made a few adjustments, but I can say that it does have a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Excellent! Used 1/3 cup honey in place of the sugar. Froze in small containers. Will never buy store bought ketchup again...EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I have made this recipe twice and followed it to the tee...except, I have used my homemade canned tomato sauce that isn't much more than blended tomatoes and water. Made it in the crockpot. The ketchup is awesome. I did not like other ketchups made with tomato paste! This works out wonderfully! Keeps for several months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gervais

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Perfect for those who want to pass on the sugar and preservatives by using Truvia and USDA organic tomatoes. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
The flavor was good, but it was so labor intensive! I just can't justify the amount of time and effort involved compared with the store bought variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I have a question ( I have not yet tried this recipe). Could this be made in large amounts and then "canned" in a water bath like other veggies and fruits. I would love to make a big batch of this to keep on my pantry shelves for future use. Thanks for any suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ketchup

See how to make your own ketchup from scratch.

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States