Homemade Ketchup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
this was really good. I made it with my extra garden tomatoes, and added some of my peppers. it took a long time, but the results were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is awesome and super easy to make. It tastes better than any other store bought brand. I don't think I'll ever buy another bottled ketchup again. Both my kids and husband love it! We nearly went thru a 36oz bottle of this in a week! So...I'm happy to report that this is definitely a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Gluth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Made this yesterday, everyone raves about it. Only thing I did "wrong" was use white wine vinegar instead of distilled, because that's what I had on hand. I forgot - used 56 oz of fresh tomatoes from the garden and cut the water to a splash. Also used 1/2 cup instead of 2/3 cup of sugar. I would like to try this again using fresh onion and garlic - just because if it comes from my garden I feel happier about it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
So much better for you than store bought and so simple. I used tomato sauce, and we don't like celery salt, so I threw some celery in and let it cook down, also used stevia and about 1/2 the amount of sugar. Cooked down in about 2 hours on the stove top and came out perfect. I double the recipe and got about cups and it is in the hot water bath now canning! Husband said best he ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
So delicious....I just filled my crock-pot with home-grown tomatoes, crushed in my Vita-Mix. Used the same amount of ingredients but left out the water. M-m-m-m good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne LeFever

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
If I could give it 10 stars I would. Took it to a picnic and everyone loved it. I pureed mine in the food processor and it was a little chunky, but, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I had a variety of different kinds and put them all together. Cut the stem ends off, cut them up and liquefy them, skins, seeds and all. Cooking it in a crockpot for 10 hours, and having to stir every hour pretty much defeats the reason for using a crockpot. I made a batch last night, but cooked it on the stove. You have to pay attention to it, and stir every few minutes, but from the time I started chopping to the time it reduced, it was just over an hour. I did use ground clove, and made a few adjustments, but I can say that it does have a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Excellent! Used 1/3 cup honey in place of the sugar. Froze in small containers. Will never buy store bought ketchup again...EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I have made this recipe twice and followed it to the tee...except, I have used my homemade canned tomato sauce that isn't much more than blended tomatoes and water. Made it in the crockpot. The ketchup is awesome. I did not like other ketchups made with tomato paste! This works out wonderfully! Keeps for several months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gervais

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Perfect for those who want to pass on the sugar and preservatives by using Truvia and USDA organic tomatoes. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ketchup

See how to make your own ketchup from scratch.

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States