Homemade Italian Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I liked this sauce as i also use paste in my sauce. Otherwise it comes to thin. I dont use mushrooms but put meatballs in the sauce after i fry them and cook longer. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I don't know where to find 16 oz cans of tomatoes; mine come in 14.5 oz and tomato paste in 6 oz cans, so I had to pull out high school math to convert, lol. I don't like green pepper and put it in anyway but chunky so I could pick out the pieces. Next time, it goes in with a regular size chop. I added meatballs, but with or without--man, it was good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharB26350

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I did not use canned tomatoes however since I had the rest of my fresh Roma's from the garden to use up. I did use the tomato paste and the rest of the recipe. I also added some brown sugar which is just what it needed to lower the acidic taste. Not too much though we don't want to spike your sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This sauce is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I was SUPER excited to try this recipe after reading the reviews, but I HAD to have done something wrong. Though I did follow it to a "T". The sauce was very very bitter! It was also very bland... which surprised me. I tried adding some sugar and some other seasonings to help but nothing could rescue it. My family liked it and they ate it, and my husband said he liked it(though I think he was just being sweet), but I personally couldn't stand it. I think I might try making it once more... but as it stands right now this was a total let down for me :^(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Maybe I did something wrong, please tell me. I followed the directions as given. 5 cloves of garlic seemed to much and it was. Sauce was very very bland even after adding salt and sugar.Everyone else seemed to like it but it was terrible for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
First time making sauce. This sauce came out AMAZING. I didn't add mushrooms, basil and and crushed tomatoes. i only used whole tomatoes. Came out so good. . I did add 2 teaspoons of salt and 2 teaspoons of sugar to make it a little more sweet, since it did taste a little bitter. Great Recipe. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This sauce was excellent and very fresh tasting. I added some water to make it a little thinner. It was to thick for my taste. Also I added a few packets of sugar to make it a little more sweet. A few extra added spices and this was perfect. I will never buy jarred pasta sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Delicious! My boyfriend loved this sauce. I was so angry because the mushrooms I had went bad, so I had to leave them out. The sauce was great without them, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Taste exactly what my Mom used to make. Ah! the memories...She is gone now. But I can finally recreate her recipe thanks to you...It was marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States