Homemade Ice Pops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
These brought back memories of my childhood. I wouldn't advise cutting back on the water that much, as they would be too sweet. My three year old has been devouring these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Learned how to make this from Grandma when I was a kid. Works great and is less drippy than most ice pops. My kids prefer the watermelon/strawberry combo but I favor the orange kind. NOTE: This also can be made with half the sugar and SF jello and come out just fine. Cheap way to make popsicle makers is using dixie cups and popsicle/craft sticks. Both can be bought super cheaply.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
These turned out great and they made aton! The lids picked the flavors....melon Jello and strawberry Kool-aid. They mixed up quick and a bonus....the jello keeps them from being too drippy! Thanks Gareth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2001
This recipe was great, my only thing that I didn't like was how hard the popsicles were when done. So the next time that I made them I brought the cold water down 2 cups and just evened it out to 1.5 liters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
These Ice Pops are SO easy to make (and so inexpensive). My daughter enjoyed helping me stir them up. Putting them into paper cups is a great idea because the side can be torn down to make eating the pop easy. I like these best when they sit out for a few minutes before eating -- then they become like the consistencey of a store ice pop. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
My aunt used to make these popsicles and I loved them. The flavor lasts till the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
What FUN for kids (ok...I liked them too)!! Very easy to make, and worked well with artificially sweetened jello. I did add a tad extra sugar in case! They turned out exceptionally well made in ice cube trays...filled nearly 4 trays! Simple and rewarding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
These aren't gonna last long in my freezer! Thanks for the new additional to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plains, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
If you don't follow the directions using the recommended listed ingredients or the additional cold water, essentially you will make extra-sweet frozen gelatin. Made as directed these are good homemade ice pops -- less melty, too. I found them a little too sweet, so next time I'll either use a sugar substitute or just reduce the white sugar to taste. Easy and fun project for kids to help make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I was sceptical of the idea of jello in my ice pops, but i tried these, and they were great! they tasted as good if not better than store bought! We will never waste money on store bought ice pops again thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPaetzold

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Booze Ice Pops

Celebrate Independence Day the boozy way with berry-flavored ice pops.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States