Homemade Ice Cream Cones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
These cones are EXCELLENT! I used a Chef's Choice Waffle Cone Express grill to make them. I do believe using a waffle grill of some type makes these cones perfect. (They won't need flipping) The grill came with a cone form to wrap the warm waffle around. This could be made out of aluminum foil. Take the warm waffle, lay it on a towel, then wrap it around a cone form and leave on the form until cool. The ingredients are PERFECT, it's just a matter of mastering the technique! Thank you Mal for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Wonderful. It takes a little effort but it is very much worth it. Be forewarned, if you make these, you’ll have a hard time going back to store bought cones again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
1st time was a charm, I made this for my wife along with some Homemade Ice Cream, She Loved so much that she wondered when & how did I make put them together, I made mines into bowls instead of cones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebabyal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianais Rosa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsSpice
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
YUM! The first cone I made didn't dry hard, so the next one, I made sure the heat was on medium-low and when the cone was slightly brown, I flipped it and pressed on it with my spatula so it browned evenly. It must get brown in order to dry hard. Flip it and press down on it again until it's nice and brown on both sides. Then, either shape it into a cone or put in in a small bowl so it's like a little cup. This was a fun recipe Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
The end product was tasty, but the recipe could use a couple tweaks to get the crispiness everyone expects in a waffle-cone. First of all, the recipe says it makes 8 cones, but it's actually closer to 5 cones based on the 1/4th cup of batter per cone. You need to scale the recipe up if you want 8. Next the recipe calls for cooking over medium heat. This browns the waffles too quickly and you'll end up with soft and pliable cones. If you want it firm up properly then you'll need to drop the temperature down a little. Everyone's stove is different, but based on the reviews it seems like those that had success used a medium-low temperature. In my case, I set the temperature knob to 5 o'clock (assuming 6 o'clock is medium). And my last suggestion is to make sure your work area is ready to go. You want to be able to quickly form the cone as soon as it is off the griddle, otherwise the edges will start cracking on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I don't have a waffle griddle so my waffle bowls were not gorgeous, but the recipe did work out good. I used a flat griddle on medium-low heat and allowed them to slowly brown. They were a little tricky to flip the first time and then they were golden brown I draped them over the bottoms of wine and custard glasses. They hardened fairly quickly, within a couple of minutes. I did burn a couple of fingertips in the process of trying to pick them up when turning because I needed to get my spatula underneath. **Tip** To shape them over a bowl or glass, place a paper towl over the hot waffle cone so you can touch it and hold it in place as you shape the cup as you need. Hold for a minute until it cools and remove the paper towel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
taste was GREAT, but end up a bit thick for a cone and softer than would be ideal . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
My whole family enjoyed these cones. Mine turned out crispy. It takes quite a while to get the cones evenly browned. Next time I think I'll try it with a weight or baking them to get even browning faster. They must be shaped quickly so they don't crack in the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I could not get these to crisp up. After cooking them, I put them in 1 cup custard cups and let them sit. When I took them out, they did not retain their shape very well..kind of flimsy. However... they tasted very good. Eveyone LOVED them and didn't seem to mind the "non" crispy shell. Maybe I will try again and bake them to get them to crisp up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream in a Bag

Yes, you and your kids can make ice cream in a bag. Shake, scoop, and eat!

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States