Homemade Horseradish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I have been growing and making Horseradish for around 5 years now. I don't care for adding sugar to my recipe. I think you would like it better without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
305 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mills, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is VERY similar to what my Grandmother always made and what her mother made and etc.. I think she only used white vinegar and maybe coarse salt and I'm not clear if sugar was ever added. Grandma would make a large batch once every year by using the fresh horseradish root from her garden. Of course she grated the rock hard root finely by hand! Growing up, this was ALWAYS on the table with dinner, along with the other standard items like sweet and dill pickles. Pickled beets, watermelon pickles, you name it! It was on the table. Some people don't understand the potency of this homemade and pure horseradish and lay it on too thick. Most people prefer this over the creamy style once they've tried it and learn how much suits them. You don't have to like "spicy" or "hot" to enjoy horseradish. Personally, I've NEVER enjoyed the creamy and diluted versions of horseradish sauces. I've always been familiar with this since I was a child. It's so nice and refreshing to use in many of my recipes... rubs for a roasts, adding a hint to different appetizers and dips, and always including it in hearty sandwiches. I'm so pleased someone included this GREAT and SIMPLE recipe. Simplicity is often the best. *** As for how long this safely lasts in the fridge, I believe if the horseradish stayed covered by the vinegar and tightly covered in the refrigerator... and since it's considered "pickling" it should last indefinately. This is a huge gray area and you should be caref
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
I wasn't overwhelmed with it when I first tasted it. But three to four days after I made it, it tasted incredible! Definitely will clear your sinuses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
Wonderful! We grow our own hoseradish and this is a very nice easy recipe. If you want to make small batches as we do, it works fine. Nothing beats the fresh stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERNSCOT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Holy Cow! Hubby has been on the prowl for a good HR recipe (we have a whole lot of "store boughts" that just didn't do & will now be thrown away). This is great. However, at the risk of sounding like a moron, the first time I made this, I bought a celery root (it was in the same basket as the HR root) and well, figured it out because: A. it wasn't hot & B. well it smelled like celery. Needless to say, hubby & I both agree this is great! Thanks Kim, no more store bought for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Outstanding! The hardest part was finding the horseradish root at the grocery store. Do not make too far in advance of the meal, as the horseradish loses power the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
this is a great recipe...but this time we put in a grated fresh med size beet...but followed the rest...wow...it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
Delicious...impressed my guests and it was so easy. I served this with prime rib and the next night made my own cocktail sauce for shrimp - it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2001
Damm Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
very 'hot' -- awesome if you like spicy food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Homemade Horseradish

See how incredibly easy it is to make fresh horseradish from scratch.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States