Homemade Horseradish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
YES! Finally! The same horseradish that the restaurants have! Don't plan on it tasting correctly for 2 days. Then. WOW! Very good. If you heat it in a jar in boiling water for 10 minutes it will keep longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Easy and delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
OMG, my eyes are still burning just from making it! I thought at one point I wouldnt be able to see! This is some GREAT stuff! one little taste and your head is CLEAR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
My husband likes a coarser texture for his horseradish. We simply grated the root on the small hole side of a cowbell then mixed all in bowl. No blending or processing needed. Also, we did NOT add any sugar. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This was my first try with homemade horseradish. It was very easy to make and I'll make it again. To try to get the horseradish root to be a finer consistency while still using my food processor, I peeled the root, but left it whole. Then I shredded the whole root using my food processor. I then changed the blade in my food processor and processed 2 cups of shredded root along with the other ingredients. This worked pretty well, but it still wasn't the very fine texture I was hoping for. At first I left the sugar out of the mixture, as suggested by another poster, but the it tasted a little bitter. Adding the sugar eliminated the bitterness. My son, who loves horseradish, also loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
this is a great recipe...but this time we put in a grated fresh med size beet...but followed the rest...wow...it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
followed your recipe to the T. It had great flavor but barely any heat.we like lots of heat will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Great and very easy. My processor doesn't chop the horseradish as smooth as I'd like, so the radish and the liquid seperate a bit, but still gets rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Best horseradish around. My husband is making it for the second time, he and our sons love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Used this recipe as a basis to a horseradish sauce recipe on this board that I also rated on. Instead of regular vinegar, I used the equivalent of white wine vinegar. Very good. The texture was still a little cruncy but I'm sure if I gave it time to sit overnight it would soften or perhaps I can use another food processor (ohhhh...hunny! LOL). Very good otherwise :0) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Ducky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Homemade Horseradish

See how incredibly easy it is to make fresh horseradish from scratch.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States