Homemade Horseradish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
It's worth 5 stars even though I left out the sugar and waited 3 minutes before adding the vinegar! It is better than any prepared horseradish I've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Stearns Sterkowitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I followed the directions to a "T" and my horseradish simply wasn't hot. I could taste the flavor but I like very hot horseradish and I was disappointed after all that work. After some addition research, I learned that adding vinegar neutralizes the hot. I did a second batch but blended the horseradish alone with a little water. Then, waited 3 minutes for the heat to build (longer than 3 and it will subside) then added the vinegar. I added it to my bunk batch and it will definitely make your eyes burn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Very simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I used cider vinegar for my recipe. No sugar. Also, I think, if you wait a while to add the vinegar after you've processed the horseradish, I'm told it would come out hotter! Hard to tell! About the sugar? You can always add it to the recipe if there's none in the fresh horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Tebaldi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
WONDERFUL!!! We grow horseradish in our garden, and were looking for a recipe to use it. This one was perfect!! So much better than store bought. You just can't go wrong with fresh horseradish on Christmas prime rib!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was so GOOD! We were trying to be healthier this year at Thanksgiving so decided to make our own horseradish! Such an easy recipe....we mixed it with mayo for pork loin sandwiches and had to put a warning on it for the kidlets! It's potent but delishious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made this recipe because I could not find a hot horseradish in the store, I will NEVER buy horseradish again!! This is so easy and everyone in my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
simple and excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Grew/harvested Horseradish first time this season. Followed the recipe exactly and am So happy w/ results. Creamy, white, (HOT) product. And Fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Best and easiest one tip the finer you process it the hotter it gets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Horseradish

See how incredibly easy it is to make fresh horseradish from scratch.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States