Homemade Horseradish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This recipe is great. I made it again recently and gave a jar to my neighbor. She's Polish and has always liked to have horseradish on hand for sandwiches, so I wondered if this would taste authentic to her. She loved it, and now I'm on order to make some for her every time I put together a batch because it's so much better than store-bought. My husband loves this, too--both for its taste and for its "medicinal" qualities. He tends to get sinus headaches, and a spoonful of this horseradish pretty much cures him! It seems to keep well in the fridge, as long as it's in an air- tight jar. (My neighbor suggested turning the jar upside down every so often to keep the liquid well distributed.) We're still using the horseradish I made at Christmas (2+ months ago), and it has stayed hot and tasty. One last thing: We had guests recently and decided to smoke a ham outdoors. My husband covered the ham with this horseradish, and it was terrific--made the outside a little crunchy but didn't overpower the ham flavor. Even the little kids (ages 2, 5, and 7) loved it. Thanks, BOOK_WORM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I tried this recipe and I will never buy horseradish from the store again. I will be making my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
My family are big prime rib and horeradish lovers, and I got praise for this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Hot and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent!! I had to chop my horseradish in 1/2 inch cubes to get the processor going with it. Hot and pungent. Very nice and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticadmin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Brilliant! really simple and gets right to the point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
thanks lost my recipe and couldn' remember measurements
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I acutally took the time to join Allrecipes so that I could rate this recipe... PERFECT! Simple with fantastic flavour/heat. Just know that it takes at least an hour or two before the heat kicks in. Then it *really* kicks in :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This was awesome!! I don't add the sugar-and for a pretty color I throw a canned or jarred red beet with a little beet juice-makes for a beautiful color! So hot and delicious.My husband loves this and it only takes minutes to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Too good and too easy! :). I love that you can make just as much as you need, so none goes to waste. I used just the horseradish and vinegar but no sugar. I may try using the sugar in my next batch. I love making condiments from scratch because you can add whatever you want to them. I'll probably add some garlic and/or onion in one of my batches. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Homemade Horseradish

See how incredibly easy it is to make fresh horseradish from scratch.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States