Homemade Horseradish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Fabulous- we have tried so many store bought brands and this one wins, hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I make horseradish all the time, however I've never used sugar...I mixed part vinegar with part of Carnation milk. I grind the root in my food processor until it's ultra thin, becareful when opening the lid, it's very hot...my kids said if mom isn't crying, the root isn't hot. Then I add the milk mixture slowly until I get the consistent I'm looking for. Don't toss all the milk mixture into the grind root...it makes it too waterly, you want it so you can make cocktail sauce and be able to place it on roast beef....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Great! Put some in a jelly jar to use in the next month. Put the rest in jelly jars and freeze until needed. That way you'll always have fresh available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I grew my ow horseradish and used this recipe and WOW, I never knew horseradish could have such a punch. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This horseradish was amazing! powerful and strong, careful it will know your socks off! thank you Book_Worm! will never go back to store bought it really is a 10 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
way better than store bought! nice heat to it and great flavor. hard to find a good horseradish root sometimes though in stores. never get one that's starting to go soft. Very bitter. must be firm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dockgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I just made this to go with PJ's Sweet Potato Mash. In an effort to know my ingredients, ready-made horseradish at the store had so many extras in it, I couldn't buy them. This is an easy, quick recipe! I used my little Cuisinart to grate the horseradish. It only has two modes, grate and chop, so the root never got to a fine consistency. I may try the blender next time. The reason you're told to "keep your face away from the container" is that the fumes will slightly burn and make your eyes water. Think of wasabi! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Just a question. I have white radish( very hot) growing in my garden. How does this differ from the "root". Are they interchangable in preparing horseradish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
It's worth 5 stars even though I left out the sugar and waited 3 minutes before adding the vinegar! It is better than any prepared horseradish I've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Stearns Sterkowitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I followed the directions to a "T" and my horseradish simply wasn't hot. I could taste the flavor but I like very hot horseradish and I was disappointed after all that work. After some addition research, I learned that adding vinegar neutralizes the hot. I did a second batch but blended the horseradish alone with a little water. Then, waited 3 minutes for the heat to build (longer than 3 and it will subside) then added the vinegar. I added it to my bunk batch and it will definitely make your eyes burn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Homemade Horseradish

See how incredibly easy it is to make fresh horseradish from scratch.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States