Homemade Horseradish Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Perfect! 1000x better than stored bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
My market only had one option of prepared horseradish. It was not the "EXTRA HOT" Chef John recommended. I was too lazy to make my own so used it anyway. Let it sit overnight in the frig and then tasted. Too mild. No kick at all. I added another 2 tbsp of horseradish and a pinch more of cayene pepper. Much better! The next day I whipped in some Best Foods Mayo to make left over roast beef sandwiches. OMG, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This recipe has the perfect balance of heat from the horseradish and cool from the sour cream. I make my own prepared horseradish from fresh root so it tends to be extremely hot! It worked perfect in this recipe. I served it with a Cabernet wine jelly so I omitted the chives but other than that the I follow the recipe exact. I also increased the recipe to 50 servings and the ratios held up. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe and found it delicious. I can't buy horseradish in any way, shape or form and have to wait until I go to Thailand. I can buy an American brand - Morehouse. It says Prepared Horseradish, so I hope it's what Chef J means. I ate it with a succulent pork chop andboiled potatoes fried up. This sauce will go with anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This stuff is so easy and perfect for my roast beef! I did, however, add about 3 times the amount of horseradish and left out the ever so controversial lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny26RED

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
We liked it a lot. I did add some salt to make the flavor pop. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Not enough horseradishy flavor for our family even after letting it sit for a day in fridge. But then again, our family eats it straight out of the jar and loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I made this for my Christmas Prime Rib Roast. It was easy and complimented my prime roast wonderfully. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this to serve with beef tenderloin tonight. Sorry, didn't wait 2 hours before serving and didn't have the chives - but it was delicious and exactly what the tenderloin needed. Definitely a keeper recipe.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is delicious. I followed the recipe as written and it's the best horseradish sauce that I have ever had. I made it to go with Christmas prime rib and the next day it was even better. In the fridge overnight it thickened up, and I'm using it as a spread for leftover prime rib sandwiches. I will use this for other sandwiches throughout the year. It would also make a great veggie dip for an appetizer platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HKR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Homemade Horseradish

See how incredibly easy it is to make fresh horseradish from scratch.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States