Homemade Hashbrowns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
My family has been making these for years except we add a little flour so they hold together better. We also call them potato cakes instead of hashbrowns. This is a terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
very simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2001
Very easy and fast!! Lots of different possibilities!! Lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
these were great! i added lots of cheese and a couple jalopeano peppers to the mashed potatoes! added a lot of extra zing! will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
OUTSTANDING! Loved these, they reminded me of Grandma's down home cooking growing up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Goodness times 50!!! This is a delicious breakfast or brunch!! My husband is an advid mashed potatoe fan..this is a great way to use the leftovers or just make them fresh and use the recipe!! This is a recipe im giving to all my friends and family!!! As with the other reviews i found adding some flour does help them hold together better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Callaway, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
these browns were great! even though they fell apart a little, their great with four cheese potatoes... /and don't add any onion or garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Yum:) Key for me was to put them in the skillet, flatten them, then leave them alone until they were ready to turn. Can't wait to try these with other herbs and add ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
These hashbrowns were DELICIOUS! My husband is just about the pickiest eater EVER and he loved them! I followed the recipe to a 'T' but I added some extra seasoning with 'season-all'. This just added more flavor. I also added flour so they would hold together better and this was a good choice. Serve them fresh and hot though because the crispiness of the frying fades over a little time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Kids and I loved these. Here's my minor changes- Saute onions in olive oil and tad butter first, add 1/4 cup flour to onions when lightly browned. Add onion mix to egg/potato. Drop onto already heated pan with little oil in it. Flatten to no more than 1/2 inch patties. Cook medium heat for abt. 10 min/side. Don't touch them while cooking. I also added a little shredded white cheddar to cooked side after flipping. Worth the wait!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States