Homemade Hashbrowns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I had always made these sort of hash browns after having leftover mashed potatoes. I have found through the years that cooking them on a lower temperature works better at keeping them together. If you cook them on medium to med-low for about 10 minutes on one side, it gets them very nice and browned which aids in flipping them over. Also, have a spatula that is big enough to encompass the whole bottom of the pancake. Makes sure to completely brown one side before flipping it. It just takes patience. I have also found that the flatter I make them, the better they turn out. If they are only 1/4 inch thick or less, they cook faster and are crispier than if they are thicker. Just a few suggestions to aid in your frustrations... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
My family has been making these for years except we add a little flour so they hold together better. We also call them potato cakes instead of hashbrowns. This is a terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
My husband asked me to make pancakes from left over mashed potatoes, so I gave this recipe a try. However, I remember that my mother used flour in hers. I think that explains the problem of them not sticking together that other reviewers mentioned. About half a cup of all-purpose flour should be enough - add it slowly until you get the right level of stickiness. We really enjoyed having a treat we remember from childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
the recipe was good I used shredded potatoe instead of mashpotatoes. It fell apart but still good. Might need another egg to hold better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I consider myself to be a pretty good & experienced cook & this recipe did not turn out for me at all.Even after adding an add'l 1/4 of flour to try & make it stay together it still fell apart,by the time I added enough flour to make it stick ,it tasted like dough.I seen a similar recipe before using grated potatoes instead of mashed & those potatoe pancakes rocked!!I wouldn't try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of Four

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
They were good, but I can reccommend to add some cajun spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
these browns were great! even though they fell apart a little, their great with four cheese potatoes... /and don't add any onion or garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
The potatoes did not stick together when I was frying them. But it tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Good but fell apart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abby.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
very simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States