Homemade Hashbrowns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This is a really nice way to liven up leftover mashed potatoes! I added a touch of parsley for color. I found that they browned best if I let them sit in the pan with a cover on them on a medium high heat. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I tossed everything in to my magic bullet and threw it into the frying pan. Yum! I had these potatoes in the fridge, and now I know what to do with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny-Marie Case

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
My family has been making these for years except we add a little flour so they hold together better. We also call them potato cakes instead of hashbrowns. This is a terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
These did not come out. I couldn't get them to clump together, even after adding flour (tried both with and without flour). They came out lumpy, hard and had a bad texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
From the advice of other reviews I grated potatoes and cooked for 10 mins per side at med to med-low heat. It worked great. They came out crispy and delicious. I would also suggest adding some paprika and/or curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I had always made these sort of hash browns after having leftover mashed potatoes. I have found through the years that cooking them on a lower temperature works better at keeping them together. If you cook them on medium to med-low for about 10 minutes on one side, it gets them very nice and browned which aids in flipping them over. Also, have a spatula that is big enough to encompass the whole bottom of the pancake. Makes sure to completely brown one side before flipping it. It just takes patience. I have also found that the flatter I make them, the better they turn out. If they are only 1/4 inch thick or less, they cook faster and are crispier than if they are thicker. Just a few suggestions to aid in your frustrations... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
While this recipes is similiar to one that I use for potatoe pancakes it is missing the flour. It is also name incorectly. These are not hashbrowns in any sort of the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I consider myself to be a pretty good & experienced cook & this recipe did not turn out for me at all.Even after adding an add'l 1/4 of flour to try & make it stay together it still fell apart,by the time I added enough flour to make it stick ,it tasted like dough.I seen a similar recipe before using grated potatoes instead of mashed & those potatoe pancakes rocked!!I wouldn't try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of Four

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
These were good. I added lots of spices. Mine fell apart in the pan and made a mess, but they tasted good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
My husband asked me to make pancakes from left over mashed potatoes, so I gave this recipe a try. However, I remember that my mother used flour in hers. I think that explains the problem of them not sticking together that other reviewers mentioned. About half a cup of all-purpose flour should be enough - add it slowly until you get the right level of stickiness. We really enjoyed having a treat we remember from childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States