Homemade Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Yeah! Just made these right now and they are yummy! The only issue I had was there was not enough water at first. I added in half a cup of warm water and then there was too much, so I added in a couple of cups more flower-kneading it in by hand-until I got the sticky but not clingy consistency. I let it rise and all was well. I made a test bun in the oven "hee hee" just to be sure and it was fab. They all came out great. With all the adjustments I ended up with a dozen. My home made sloppy joes are going to be great, thanks John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Made exactly as stated except made dough in bread machine so picked the directions up at step 7 and skipped the egg wash & sesame seeds. (personal preference - sorry Chef John) Also rubbed a stick of butter to coat the tops of buns as soon they came out of oven. Next time I will make 12 buns as these were HUGE. Also next time I may use the egg wash and sprinkle tops with chopped onion. They were delish.....thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This is such a great recipe, and saving so much money by making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
kind of dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Danielle~

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Excellent! We now live in West Africa and have a hard time getting hamburger and hot dog buns here. I love to bake but every time I have made bread it has been a disappointment for me, well now I have the perfect recipe. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaC2020
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
These buns are perfect. I will never buy buns in a store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaC2020

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Tried it for the first time on the 4th of July. I have never made bread before and ii found out i could do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oscar D. Bickerdt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Do not change a thing! I followed this recipe exactly and it was my first bread making experience- The result was MELT IN YOUR MOUTH buns! They were absolutely delicious and I am going to use this bread recipe for everything, this recipe would make wonderful rolls :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
These came out great, and I've had trouble in the past making good buns. Watching the video helped! I also used my bread maker for mixing and the first rise. Even my husband liked these, and he usually just likes stuff from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I would make these again, but I would make 10 from the recipe. They aren't real flavorful, just good. After about a day they fall apart. I don't mind that, I don't much like stuff with preservatives. Next time I will add some whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States