Homemade Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
These hamburger buns are easy to make and taste great. They freeze well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This was my 2nd attempt at bread. My first batch of yeast didn't take so I had to start over. Other than that my only issue was that my dough didn't look like his in the video at all. It looked really dry. The video mentions it might look too wet-so add flour. It never mentions it being too dry. I added water while it was mixing. Note to self, stop the machine, poke a little hole in the dough with your finger and add the water in there. Otherwise the dough just rolls around in the bowl while the liquid clings to the sides. Either way, when it was done in the machine my dough looked nothing like his. It was hard. I continued on anyways and surprisingly they turned out wonderfully! I was shocked and amazed. I will try again and add flour a little at a time. Perhaps I will have an even better result. thx CJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Just made these buns and they were much better then what you get in most restaurants. Mu problem with buns that they fatal apart while eating my burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jsimpson
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Soooooo good, excellent recipe with easy to follow instructions. Divide dough into 16 if you want sliders. This recipe makes 8 very large buns. THANK YOU Chef John--you are the Best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Fantastic! So worthwhile to make that I won't go back to store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I mistakenly read the reviews before making these buns. I made 10 buns out of them instead of 8 and I'm now regretting that decision. 10 buns are too small. I make homemade bread frequently so I'm not a novice baker, I followed the directions to the t. make 8 buns and follow the recipe exactly as written, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
These turned out so good! I got 13 regular sized buns that I used for pulled pork sandwiches. I cute the initial rise to 1 hour (doubled in size in 1 hour) and let the buns rise for 45 minutes. I made these changes based on my first batch, I got 8 GIGANTIC buns. They tasted just fine and are now be sliced and used like slices from a loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I signed up just to leave a review. Delicious! Made 10 instead due to personal size preference but I'm left with 9 as me and my husband tore one apart fresh from the oven to eat with butter. Tomorrow's project: this recipe with cheddar and jalapenos for pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zillahna
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I've followed this recipe twice now and I couldn't be happier!! They came out perfect both times. Sadly I had no sesame seeds to sprinkle on top, but they are good none the less! I recommend this to anyone who is looking for an extremely easy bun or hamburger bun recipe! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Russellville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I've finally found a bread recipe that works for me!!! Thank you Chef John I'm just discovering your videos and food blog! These buns were so easy and incredibly delicious! I made your classic sloppy joes, but my husband couldn't wait he ate a bun alone lol. I can't thank you enough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALASCATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States