Homemade Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by s©tt
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Gotta love Chef John's buns! These turned out really well - light, lovely taste and texture. Also delicious when made with whole wheat flour. The only change I made to the recipe was to cut the sugar down to 1 tblsp, because 3 tblsp makes it way too sweet for my (European) taste, and it adds unnecessary calories. I whisked the egg, then tossed all the ingredients into my bread-making machine on the dough-making setting, thereby skipping steps 2 through 6, resuming at step 7. I also use this recipe for hot dog buns, and the results are excellent. For hot dog buns, in step 7, flatten each of the 8 pieces into 15x15cm (6x6-inch) rectangles, very tightly roll each one, pinch the ends and along the remaining edge, then lay out on the baking sheet with the remaining edge down. In step 10, brush lightly with the egg-wash, but skip the sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by s©tt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
These buns are so easy to make! What an easy way for beginners with yeast to start! I followed the recipe except to add one tablespoon of the sugar to the yeast/flour/water mix in the very beginning. I weighed the dough of each of the buns at 3.5 ounces, and they handled a quarter pound hamburger perfectly. I think we would perhaps like them just a tad smaller, so next time I'll do what another suggested and make 10 buns from the recipe. They were perfect. I like to slightly undercook my rolls like this (see my photo) so that when I toast them with butter they don't get too dry. We had delicious hamburgers tonight with organic hamburger meat from Costco! Yum! Another winner, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Delicious! I put all of the ingredients into the bread machine and set it to the dough cycle. When it was complete, I proceeded with the rest of the recipe. I do agree with the others that said these are a bit on the big side. I think next time I'm gonna make 10 buns, and that should be the perfect size for us. As soon as hubby took his first bite he said I should make these every time we have burgers. These have a wonderful flavor and texture...A definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This was a really fun and easy recipe to make,although I did make some changes of my own.You see,because I'm a vegan health nut I was unable to use eggs,so I substituted with good ole flax seed(1Tbsp of ground flax + 3Tbsp of water = 1 egg)I also used whole wheat flour(Wheat Montana brand)instead of white,1 Tbsp of sugar instead of three and olive oil instead of butter.Because whole wheat is heavier than white, an extra 1/4 cup of water is needed.This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This recipe is so easy and produces a great bun. Chef John comes through again. Like others have said, the buns at 8 servings are too large. I tried 10 and still felt the buns were a tad large, so today, I'm going to 12 buns. Size is a personal preference so 8 might be fine for you. Try this recipe. You will not be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This was my 2nd attempt at bread. My first batch of yeast didn't take so I had to start over. Other than that my only issue was that my dough didn't look like his in the video at all. It looked really dry. The video mentions it might look too wet-so add flour. It never mentions it being too dry. I added water while it was mixing. Note to self, stop the machine, poke a little hole in the dough with your finger and add the water in there. Otherwise the dough just rolls around in the bowl while the liquid clings to the sides. Either way, when it was done in the machine my dough looked nothing like his. It was hard. I continued on anyways and surprisingly they turned out wonderfully! I was shocked and amazed. I will try again and add flour a little at a time. Perhaps I will have an even better result. thx CJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
My first time ever making hamburger buns, and I now know I will NEVER go back to store-bought! So easy, and so delicious! I agree that the buns are large, and you could easily shape 10-12 instead of 8 and they will still turn out a good size. I put all ingredients in my bread machine to let it do it's thing, and then step #7 onward after it has risen. These are a HUGE hit in my family; sloppy joes, hamburgers, pulled pork, it all works great! Thanks for spectacular recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA
Photo by squee
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Best bun recipe I've ever found. Follow it to a T if you are at Sea Level. I've made them so many times now and my only feedback would be to watch the buns if your oven runs a bit hot (like mine does), I would only suggest baking 10-12 mins, just keep in mind they are easy to burn from the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
These hamburger buns are easy to make and taste great. They freeze well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mindyio
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made these yesterday...I got 12 buns our of one batch and they were the perfect size. I used the bread machine for the dough and then followed the steps afterwards to bake the buns. They were AMAZING. I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't use sesame seeds. we didn't find them too sweet, or really that sweet at all. Perfect texture, perfect crumb. Great and very sturdy for pulled pork sandwiches and for scrambled egg sandwiches for breakfast! I have to make another batch today because they are all gone!! thank you for a fabulous recipe! So much better than store bought!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States