Homemade Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
These were awesome. I made them just as the recipe stated, and they came out light and fluffy. I plan to make this my go to recipe for all dough. Sweet Rolls, Cinnamon Rolls, Regular loafs of bread. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I made a double batch the first time I made these, and they were fantastic. Great recipe! I'm wondering: Can I use this dough to make a loaf of bread? I think I may just try it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
These were great. My first attempt at making these did not turn out as well. The buns were kind of flat and the bottoms were done well before the tops were. I cooked them at 350 instead of 375 to try and avoid this outcome because my oven runs hot. I decided to try again the next morning and I am glad I did. The first time I used yeast from a jar that was kept in the fridge and the second time I used a yeast packet, because I did not have enough jar yeast left. I think the fresh yeast made a huge difference. My second batch was light and fluffy. I did decrease the temp to 325 and it solved my issue with the bottoms cooking quicker than the tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I made these using my bread machine on the dough cycle then followed the rest of the steps. My family loved them and my teenager is asking for more. He also used them as sandwich rolls for school lunch. Will be making these again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dewi Kanary
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I had been looking for good hamburger buns recipe and I finally found this one. The buns were fluffy and soft. Next time I will make sliders buns, I just divide the dough into 24 pcs. Thank you Chef John for this recipe, love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
The lightest, fluffiest burger buns I have ever made! I am never buying packaged buns again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I made this in my bread machine. I used my kitchen scale to measure exactly 1 pound of flour, and it was the perfect amount. Since I used quick-rise yeast, I only had to let the buns rise for 20 minutes. They were perfectly baked in 15 minutes. The dough was exceptionally easy to work with and form; I didn't have to use any flour, because it wasn't sticky at all. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I hate buns that are too big for premade burgers. Therefore, I decided to make my own buns (since the burgers were premade from a large snail mail retailer). These turned out perfect! I did replace 1 cup of AP flour with whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by squee
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Best bun recipe I've ever found. Follow it to a T if you are at Sea Level. I've made them so many times now and my only feedback would be to watch the buns if your oven runs a bit hot (like mine does), I would only suggest baking 10-12 mins, just keep in mind they are easy to burn from the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Loved the buns! I made them for burgers the first time. Tonight, I'm making them for Sloppy Joes II. Can't wait. Truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mysti Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States