Homemade Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I made these for the first time at our July 4th cookout, and my family raved about them all day! I have some very picky eaters, and both of them absolutely loved the buns and asked me to make them every time we have burgers. I made them exactly as written except I made 10 buns and they were still large, easily holding a third-pound burger. Thank you Chef John for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzannaS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Photo by nolan
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I am by no means skilled in the kitchen. My two year old daughter and I took this on as a Sunday project. It took a lot of time but well worth it! They turned out amazing!! Will save this recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Best recipe I have ever tried. This is a wonderful compliment to the hamburger. Love the bread and texture. I didn't rise twice and was still very happy with the bun. Might even try it with cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I cut the sugar in half and they were just right. I let the bread machine do most of the work using the dough setting. My family and I loved, loved, loved the results! Their only complaint was that there weren't more buns to eat. We will definitely be using this easy recipe for hamburger and hotdog buns from now on. Thank you very much for sharing this excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janiene Bishop
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
My hamburger buns didn't puff up tall, I think because of the cellophane used to cover it on that last hour of rising. All of my hamburger buns seem kind of flat on top. I definitely will try this recipe again but I'm going to try that final rising without a covering. Other than the shape, these buns are amazing! Can't wait for dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janiene Bishop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
even without the sesame seeds it was the BEST BUNS I HAVE EVER TRIED!!!!!!!!!!!! SO GOOD, it deserves MORE THAN 5 STARS. of course i used another 5 star recipe to help but really i didn't need to(well i did because i didn't have butter) but still i LOVE it it is definitely in my recipe box. i would post a picture but my family ate it before i could. will be making again DEFINITELY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
John knows buns. Anyone who takes burgers seriously knows that the bun will make our break a burger. This one is legit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Photo by Bakersgirl
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This was my first time ever making hamburger buns I wasn't sure if I could make them since I don't know much about making bread. But these turned out perfectly, smelled amazing my boyfriend could smell them before he even got in the apartment! :) Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachel
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Seriously the best burger buns ever! We had them for two days in a row and they were fantastic. I didn't change a thing. They hold up to all kinds of toppings and never get mushy/moist. This will be a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Nice and fluffy. I haven't made the burgers yet so I haven't actually eaten it. Made 4 servings. Substituted the the water with whey. Mine came out a bit moist but I figured it would be ok after grilling the buns. Will update later. ***UPDATE*** Really good buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States