Homemade Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I've made these several times now...awesome! Let them rise to 3X...they will do it! Really light and "store bought like (albeit infinitely better)," which is not often a good thing but for a burger bun it sometimes is...sometimes you want a sturdy bun...sometimes this is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This was a really great recipe. If you are making this by hand make sure to knead the dough until the texture is elastic and very smooth. We live in Cincinnati and these rolls, combined with a good cheeseburger, gave Terry's Turf Club a run for their money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Great recipe and instructions. I made as written except for 10 instead of 8 and they were lots big for my big burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
These were awesome. I made them just as the recipe stated, and they came out light and fluffy. I plan to make this my go to recipe for all dough. Sweet Rolls, Cinnamon Rolls, Regular loafs of bread. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I made a double batch the first time I made these, and they were fantastic. Great recipe! I'm wondering: Can I use this dough to make a loaf of bread? I think I may just try it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
These were great. My first attempt at making these did not turn out as well. The buns were kind of flat and the bottoms were done well before the tops were. I cooked them at 350 instead of 375 to try and avoid this outcome because my oven runs hot. I decided to try again the next morning and I am glad I did. The first time I used yeast from a jar that was kept in the fridge and the second time I used a yeast packet, because I did not have enough jar yeast left. I think the fresh yeast made a huge difference. My second batch was light and fluffy. I did decrease the temp to 325 and it solved my issue with the bottoms cooking quicker than the tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I made these using my bread machine on the dough cycle then followed the rest of the steps. My family loved them and my teenager is asking for more. He also used them as sandwich rolls for school lunch. Will be making these again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dewi Kanary
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I had been looking for good hamburger buns recipe and I finally found this one. The buns were fluffy and soft. Next time I will make sliders buns, I just divide the dough into 24 pcs. Thank you Chef John for this recipe, love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
The lightest, fluffiest burger buns I have ever made! I am never buying packaged buns again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I made this in my bread machine. I used my kitchen scale to measure exactly 1 pound of flour, and it was the perfect amount. Since I used quick-rise yeast, I only had to let the buns rise for 20 minutes. They were perfectly baked in 15 minutes. The dough was exceptionally easy to work with and form; I didn't have to use any flour, because it wasn't sticky at all. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States