Homemade Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Ashley Nicole
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I made these following the recipe ALMOST word for word. I used bread flour instead of all purpose (things always seem less dense when I use bread flour in yeast bread recipes) and changed the order I added the ingredients. In a stand mixer I added the sugar, warm water, and yeast. After it's foamy I add about 2 cups of the bread flour, the egg, butter, salt, and oil. I use a bread hook and slowly add more flour until the dough pulls away from the sides. After letting the mixer knead the dough for 6 minutes I let it rise and formed little dough balls. I did NOT flatten them, as I like less flat buns. Other than the bread flour substitute, the order I added the ingredients, and not flattening the dough balls, I did everything word for word. I would dock a point for the dough ball formation technique being confusing, but it's a difficult technique to explain through text. I would search youtube for "how to shape a bread boule" as that would be an easier to understand presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA
Living In: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anca-Madalina Dinu
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
We loved it. Success from the first try. I loved the Chef's personal comments, funny and at the same time very helpful for the inexperienced cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anca-Madalina Dinu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I really liked this recipe.Made it exact the first time and the second time just made the buns smaller.I also used it to make hot dog buns. What a treat from store bought. These freeze great as well.Next time I am going to add some jalapeno and onion to switch it up fpr a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Neepawa, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This is a great and easy recipe!!! I am so proud of myself, I never thought I could do it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I did it exactly as the recipe said.. and seriously best ever! I don't think i'll ever be able to buy store bought buns again. :D Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami_Salls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Awesome buns. Had pulled pork sandwiches.. 10++..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Really good! I will never buy store bought again and they freeze well. The only negative is how long the whole process takes, which for a very busy family can be challenging to find the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starrika

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I found and made this recipe for hamburger buns just this past Monday. While I'm no expert, I've tried my hand at making lots of breads, rolls and buns over the years. I've always been disappointed with the buns I've made. Too puffy, too dense, etc. Well, I shall look no more! Hands down, this is THE BEST recipe I've tried. Chef John's hamburger buns are gorgeous to look at, they have a wonderful taste, and they are the perfect texture. 2 days later, the leftovers are still very tasty. These are well worth the effort. I've found my perfect recipe for hamburger buns!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarver, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I'm a little new to baking bready things, but decided to brave this recipe. Glad I did! I think it is the best bread item i've baked so far! The only thing I changed is that I used white bread flour, as it was all I had on hand, but followed the rest of the recipe closely...even the 2 hour in the oven rise time. These buns were awesome, and it's true...i doubt I will ever go back to store bought. We had burgers two nights in a row, and the buns did just as well the day after. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martine Duprey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Super easy and aweesome tasting hamburgerbuns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timothy Capello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Sweet Potato Buns

The perfect taste, texture, and appearance for a hamburger bun.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States