Homemade Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I mistakenly read the reviews before making these buns. I made 10 buns out of them instead of 8 and I'm now regretting that decision. 10 buns are too small. I make homemade bread frequently so I'm not a novice baker, I followed the directions to the t. make 8 buns and follow the recipe exactly as written, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Fantastic! So worthwhile to make that I won't go back to store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jsimpson
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Soooooo good, excellent recipe with easy to follow instructions. Divide dough into 16 if you want sliders. This recipe makes 8 very large buns. THANK YOU Chef John--you are the Best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Just made these buns and they were much better then what you get in most restaurants. Mu problem with buns that they fatal apart while eating my burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
These are excellent and fun to make. I would give them 5 stars if they were my favorite hamburger buns ever. Franz kaiser buns trump these, barely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Awesome recipe! Chef JOhn's Video for this was extremely helpful too. I, like others, reduced sugar to 1Tbspn and it was perfect for my taste. One tip: if you leave them out they will get stale faster. Try to put them in a container if you've made a lot and want to save the freshness. I left mine out after I baked them around 4 pm and they were too crispy by 7 when we ate them. But I put them in some tupperware and they are fine now, back to normal softness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mindyio
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made these yesterday...I got 12 buns our of one batch and they were the perfect size. I used the bread machine for the dough and then followed the steps afterwards to bake the buns. They were AMAZING. I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't use sesame seeds. we didn't find them too sweet, or really that sweet at all. Perfect texture, perfect crumb. Great and very sturdy for pulled pork sandwiches and for scrambled egg sandwiches for breakfast! I have to make another batch today because they are all gone!! thank you for a fabulous recipe! So much better than store bought!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I've tried a lot of recipes but this one will be the one I use from now on. The buns were light and fluffy and did not detract from the burger by being too dense. The rising time was not as lengthy for me but a stickier dough is a definite plus. The buns were a little on the big side, so I think I could make 10 and still have them be a good size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as specified and they turned out perfectly. I don't know if I will be able to buy hamburger buns from the store again! I have a question though - is there anyway to make them eggless?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I am so happy with results. My kids loved these buns. Next time I am going to try with less sugar. Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States