Homemade Graham Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Very easy recipe and tastes good too! Not exactly like store bought, but good to have on hand and brag about. I did double the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
These were very good and simple! My 3 yr old and I made them, she did most of the work. I put cinnamon sugar on top, very tasty! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I was looking for a cracker recipe that was chewy enough for my 1 year old. These are perfect. I will probably play around with flavor a bit the next time I make them, but they are still good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cloudiestdragon
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
These were really good, but I changed it up a bit. Instead of the water, I used milk. I also added a little extra cinnamon, half a teaspoon of salt, and a teaspoon of honey. The batter was quite sticky, but don't let this discourage you! Just keep flouring the surface and the rolling pin. I did have a problem with the crackers only getting brown at the corners when they were in the oven, so I took those out and put the rest back in. It may just be my oven. Also, I recommend you poke holes in them with a fork before you cook them so they don't get any bubbles. I also topped them with cinnamon sugar... I made a mix in a bowl and used 3 tablespoons sugar and 1 teaspoon cinnamon. They turned out not too sweet and not too bland, in other words "lagom" for all you Swedes. At least that is how I felt. Be sure you don't leave them in the oven too long. If they start turning a darkish brown (before a dark dark brown) then they will taste a bit burnt. You want them to get golden! I'm thinking about trying them with cocoa powder next time. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cloudiestdragon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
These work great with the 'Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverChristmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I needed graham cracker crumbs and since it was the only graham cracker recipe that did not ask for whole wheat flour, I tried it. I doubled the cinnamon, but except for that, I followed the recipe. I used light brown sugar but I think dark would give more flavor and a deeper color. Since I needed crumbs and not cookies, I just rolled out the dough and did not cut it in pieces. Big mistake! The outside got crunchy but the middle remained chewy. So I cut the middle part in pieces and put them back in the turned off but still warm oven for 5 more minutes, and I got golden brown, crispy crackers. The crackers were not quite as nutty as store bought (I guess that's why other recipes use whole wheat flour) but they were a good enough approximation. Next time, I'll use a bit less sugar, although this is a matter of personal taste. Thanks, Steph, for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I Love Troy
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
These were good, but not quite as good as store bought. A little hard to cut in to shapes because the batter was so sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I can't rate this actually 'cause I haven't tried them yet (I don't know how to give a tip on here), but I do know that you can buy graham flour in the store or online. The brand is Hodgson Mill in a brown bag. This might be the difference in it tasting like graham crackers you get in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sardinia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is a good recipe but I added part whole wheat flour and wheat germ for texture and they were delicious. I had to cook them on parchment because they were crumbly, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I am making a cheesecake recipe from a magazine and the crust is with amaretti cookies and graham crackers (I bought graham flour especially for making the graham crust but I see no one using it). Has anyone tried making graham crackers with the flour mentioned above? Can anyone suggest whether the whole wheat may be substituted for the graham flour? I will post my results (even if no one has had enough time until Easter to answer my question) when I will make the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States