Homemade Graham Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I am making a cheesecake recipe from a magazine and the crust is with amaretti cookies and graham crackers (I bought graham flour especially for making the graham crust but I see no one using it). Has anyone tried making graham crackers with the flour mentioned above? Can anyone suggest whether the whole wheat may be substituted for the graham flour? I will post my results (even if no one has had enough time until Easter to answer my question) when I will make the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is a good recipe but I added part whole wheat flour and wheat germ for texture and they were delicious. I had to cook them on parchment because they were crumbly, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
these are not graham crackers, they are biscuits. graham crackers use graham flour.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
These work great with the 'Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Christmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I can't rate this actually 'cause I haven't tried them yet (I don't know how to give a tip on here), but I do know that you can buy graham flour in the store or online. The brand is Hodgson Mill in a brown bag. This might be the difference in it tasting like graham crackers you get in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Felts Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sardinia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
nice recipe for what is tea bisquit, but graham crackers are made with the portion of the wheat that is called graham..hence its name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I give it two stars because they taste good, but I want to give it one star since the recipe is not what I woudl expect from a graham cracker recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I Love Troy
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
These were good, but not quite as good as store bought. A little hard to cut in to shapes because the batter was so sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cloudiestdragon
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
These were really good, but I changed it up a bit. Instead of the water, I used milk. I also added a little extra cinnamon, half a teaspoon of salt, and a teaspoon of honey. The batter was quite sticky, but don't let this discourage you! Just keep flouring the surface and the rolling pin. I did have a problem with the crackers only getting brown at the corners when they were in the oven, so I took those out and put the rest back in. It may just be my oven. Also, I recommend you poke holes in them with a fork before you cook them so they don't get any bubbles. I also topped them with cinnamon sugar... I made a mix in a bowl and used 3 tablespoons sugar and 1 teaspoon cinnamon. They turned out not too sweet and not too bland, in other words "lagom" for all you Swedes. At least that is how I felt. Be sure you don't leave them in the oven too long. If they start turning a darkish brown (before a dark dark brown) then they will taste a bit burnt. You want them to get golden! I'm thinking about trying them with cocoa powder next time. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cloudiestdragon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I was looking for a cracker recipe that was chewy enough for my 1 year old. These are perfect. I will probably play around with flavor a bit the next time I make them, but they are still good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States