Homemade Ginger Ale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I make mine with water kefir grains instead of yeast for a healthy probiotic drink with calcium, iron and magnesium. This recipe is tasty, simple and you really can't go wrong with it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lettie Thomas
Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Great recipe! Taste very much like store brought ginger ale. I added more ginger than required (personal preference) for taste and used only 1/8 tsp of baking yeast instead of 1/4 tsp as suggested by another reviewer. More ginger flavor (better) if you let it sit longer than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I admit I was skeptical about this turning out well, but it was quite refreshing! I used 2 1/2 TB. dried sliced ginger, for a taste more like Canadian Dry. Also left in dark cold corner of house for 24 hrs. and opened slowly, that way it did not explode, only light shhhh noise. It was nicely carbonated, definitely make this again and again for a special drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I know this recipe works because it's identical to the one that I already use! I put at LEAST 2 Tbs of ginger root in mine because I love ginger. Because it's a bit difficult to put the grated ginger into those small-mouth bottles, you can soak the grated ginger overnight in a separate container, strain it, and then pour it into the 2-ltr bottle together with the other ingredients. It works either way! Beats store-bought ginger ale by many miles and of course is much cheaper. The only(little)thing I would like to see changed is using something besides regular yeast so that it won't have that slight yeasty taste. Is there anything else that can be used to give it the needed carbonation? Does brewer's yeast have that same taste??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinhais, Paraná, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This is wonderful! I don't know why anyone would have such a problem with carbonation, unless they don't know how yeast works, or don't know how to open a bottle. I am going to play with the sugar, ginger and lemon amounts in the MANY batches I plan to make. This is really tasty! And easy! Mine was also ready a little sooner too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is not a review, as such, but a "helpful" hint. My brother and dad made wine several years ago and experienced a similar explosion (all over the room and one VERY happy guinea pig!) and were told to cap the bottle with a balloon. The balloon expands with the gas, which can then be vented quite easily by pulling the neck of the balloon away from the bottle's neck. No explosions and no mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This tastes just like store bought when you first taste it, but then the strong ginger taste kicks in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Amazing. I have made this 3 times since finding this recipe and each time it just gets better and better. I am tweaking the steps each time to make it just perfect. My husband is thrilled because he loves ginger ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Excelent!! It also is very good to settle an upset stomach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
We've made this several times, it's awesome. Just let it sit a longer than the recipe so the carbonation and ginger can take affect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Black Ginger Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake up a spiced rum cocktail.

Ginger Kiss Cocktail

This spicy gin-based cocktail stars fresh ginger root and hot chile pepper!

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States