Homemade Ginger Ale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Great recipe! Taste very much like store brought ginger ale. I added more ginger than required (personal preference) for taste and used only 1/8 tsp of baking yeast instead of 1/4 tsp as suggested by another reviewer. More ginger flavor (better) if you let it sit longer than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Does yeast eat Splenda?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
It was ok. It had a bit of a bite, but it reminded me of Vernor's ginger ale. I think next time I'd add less ginger or more lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This tastes just like store bought when you first taste it, but then the strong ginger taste kicks in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is not a review, as such, but a "helpful" hint. My brother and dad made wine several years ago and experienced a similar explosion (all over the room and one VERY happy guinea pig!) and were told to cap the bottle with a balloon. The balloon expands with the gas, which can then be vented quite easily by pulling the neck of the balloon away from the bottle's neck. No explosions and no mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I make mine with water kefir grains instead of yeast for a healthy probiotic drink with calcium, iron and magnesium. This recipe is tasty, simple and you really can't go wrong with it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lettie Thomas
Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I got this just the way I like it on my fourth try. I used 1/2 pound grated fresh ginger, juice from one lemon, 1 cup of sugar, and 1/8 tsp of yeast. I let all that ferment in the 2-liter bottle for 24 hours, during which time I let the pressure off once or twice. Next I pour it through a sieve and a funnel into 20 oz soda bottles. A 2-liter bottle will fill three soda bottles. I leave these out to ferment for at least 24 more hours, after which I refrigerate them. All this results in a ginger beer that is very carbonated but without too strong a taste of yeast (at least until you get close to the bottom of the bottle). It is not overly sweet and the ginger and lemon are both pronounced but not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnny Burnaway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I liked this recipe, but next time i will triple ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was SO GOOD! I love ginger, so next time I make it I'll probably add more like 3 tbsp of that, and cut down on the sugar to 3/4 cup, because I found it quite sweet. It turned out great, though, I'm so pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pacha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
not bad! I used only half the yeast, which resulted in plenty of carbonation but no yeasty taste. For those who are bottle-opening-challenged, let some of the gas out during the first 24 hrs. and then take it SLOWLY. Even if the liquid doesn't rise quickly at first, IT WILL, so be at the ready. Only thing, for me, was getting past the light color. Does that mean this is ginger BEER?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EndoMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Black Ginger Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake up a spiced rum cocktail.

Ginger Kiss Cocktail

This spicy gin-based cocktail stars fresh ginger root and hot chile pepper!

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States