Homemade Ginger Ale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is a great recipe. But I STRONGLY recommend everyone to look at e-z caps. They are replacement bottle screw caps that have a hold in them to let out excess gas so no explosions and it keeps just the right amount in for carbonation. They come with a perfect champagne type yeast. Use them with this recipe and you'll never look back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Great recipe! Taste very much like store brought ginger ale. I added more ginger than required (personal preference) for taste and used only 1/8 tsp of baking yeast instead of 1/4 tsp as suggested by another reviewer. More ginger flavor (better) if you let it sit longer than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Does yeast eat Splenda?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
It was ok. It had a bit of a bite, but it reminded me of Vernor's ginger ale. I think next time I'd add less ginger or more lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This tastes just like store bought when you first taste it, but then the strong ginger taste kicks in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is not a review, as such, but a "helpful" hint. My brother and dad made wine several years ago and experienced a similar explosion (all over the room and one VERY happy guinea pig!) and were told to cap the bottle with a balloon. The balloon expands with the gas, which can then be vented quite easily by pulling the neck of the balloon away from the bottle's neck. No explosions and no mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I make mine with water kefir grains instead of yeast for a healthy probiotic drink with calcium, iron and magnesium. This recipe is tasty, simple and you really can't go wrong with it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lettie Thomas
Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I got this just the way I like it on my fourth try. I used 1/2 pound grated fresh ginger, juice from one lemon, 1 cup of sugar, and 1/8 tsp of yeast. I let all that ferment in the 2-liter bottle for 24 hours, during which time I let the pressure off once or twice. Next I pour it through a sieve and a funnel into 20 oz soda bottles. A 2-liter bottle will fill three soda bottles. I leave these out to ferment for at least 24 more hours, after which I refrigerate them. All this results in a ginger beer that is very carbonated but without too strong a taste of yeast (at least until you get close to the bottom of the bottle). It is not overly sweet and the ginger and lemon are both pronounced but not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnny Burnaway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I liked this recipe, but next time i will triple ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was SO GOOD! I love ginger, so next time I make it I'll probably add more like 3 tbsp of that, and cut down on the sugar to 3/4 cup, because I found it quite sweet. It turned out great, though, I'm so pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pacha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Ginger Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake up a spiced rum cocktail.

Ginger Kiss Cocktail

This spicy gin-based cocktail stars fresh ginger root and hot chile pepper!

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States