Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
to get mashed pumpkin, I bake my fresh pumpkins. After cutting in 1/2 and removing seeds and stringy stuf. I cut down to fit on jelly jool pans and bake at 350 degree for 1/2 or so depending on oven and thicken of pumpkin. Add little water to bottom of pans for moisture while baking. Test with a fork for tender nes and softness like a bake potatoe when done. Then when cool scoop out of outer skin and blender to smoothness with a blender. Puree setting works great. Mom & Aunt show me this as a kid. We are keeping the tradation going down the generation!! Fun stuff!!! Happy Baking!! Also works with zucchini. Noticing some remarksabout not so much pumpkin flavor if you get pumpkin pie pumpkin it will taste better. your regular large pumpkin are different tasting. just use more spices as some are suggesting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Tastes like something is missing....can't quite put m finger on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I have never in 18 years made a homemade pumpkin pie, my husband had to have 2 slices. It was really good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was my first attempt to make pies from a fresh pumpkin. I knew it had to be cooked, but I had no idea how to do it. The instructions at the bottom of the recipe are perfect and very easy. My pumpkin was big enough to have two dutch ovens full to cook, but they steam perfectly with the inch or two of water in the bottom of the pot. After cooling, they peeled so easily. I then put them in my electric mixer and didn't add anything and just let it mix. All the strings wrap around the beaters. Just take the beaters out and wash off. I had to do it twice per bowl. So don't rake off the pumpkin from the beaters, just take them off and wash the strings away. I also do this on my sweet potato pies. If you add any liquid, it will not remove them. We do not care for the cinnamon, nutmeg or ginger; just cooked them plain and they were magnificent. I had to cook about 50 minutes, but that could have been the difference in the ovens. I will definitely use this recipe over and over. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe! I used just about this exact one last year and tried this one today as well. The only difference being that I add about 1 Tbsp of finely minced onion per 9" pie. You don't taste the onion but it sure gives the flavor some extra color, so to speak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I always add some ground cloves and allspice too...just like my grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
It was great! We added a little vanilla and all spice and it turned out awesome. It doesnt quite make two pies, so we used the rest for french toast and it was a really good twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Foodies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I made this at Thanksgiving and it was not only easy to make, but very delicious! Definately a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
thanks anitam for reminding me the vanilla,also as other mentioned it needs more pumpkin for two pies and spieces need to be more also cloves needed otherwise it is good standard easy recipe i will use foreever and anon.dank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natasha376

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Turned out a little watery. Don't think I drained it well enough! But great Pumpkin Pie made with real pumpkin for the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queencook31

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States