Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I have a very similar recipe. Mine also has 1/4 c molasses and 1.5 tbsp melted butter. I use a graham cracker crust as well. I bake the pumpkin instead of boiling - halve the pumpkin, scoop out the seeds, and bake in oven skin side up at 325F for 1 hr. So easy and so delicious! Why would anyone want to use canned pumpkin after trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I cooked in Italy, without canned pumpkin, canned milk, or brown sugar. Directions are excellent for cooking a real pumpkin. There was enough cooked pumpkin for two pies. I substituted white sugar, fresh milk, and real pumpkin. To my surprise, the pie was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
GREAT pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Came out Great. I'm not suprized as only good ingreadients went in. I used a gram cracker pie pan and dark ( Not light) brown sugar then garnished with some pecan nuts for eye apeal. Just a twist to give it a more maple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I haven't used evaporated milk in many years. I use 2 c. scalded milk let cool a bit before adding to pumpkin mixture. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Great recipe! Super easy to make and tasty! I did double the spices, used fresh pumpkin, and added pumkin spice. The first time I made this I hand made the pie crust, the 2nd time I used store bought :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myra Oppy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is great! This recipe makes the perfect amount for a bigger pie, it just fills my 11-inch ceramic pie dish. I also learned just now that you can just roast your pumpkin whole, either the little pie pumpkins OR your jack-o-lantern type pumpkin if you didn't carve it. For the big pumpkin, I cut a slit in it to let out steam, then roasted for 1 hr at 350 degrees, then turned down the oven to 180 degrees for eight hours. In the morning, it was thoroughly cooked, sunk down on the pan. The peel comes right off and the pumpkin flesh is pretty much pre-pureed! Just remove the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was my first time making a homemade pie. Although you can really taste the spices (I doubled all and added cloves) I didn't think it was sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Wonderful, easy recipe! Absolutely delicious...it was a HUGE hit with the family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was ok, however, I didn't think it was worth the hassle. My husband and I both agreed that the regular recipe I use (with canned pumpkin & Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust) is just as good. And a recipe I make with canned pumpkin, cream cheese & a premade graham cracker crust is even better. If you enjoy spending hours in the kitchen & have time, go for it - otherwise, don't waste your time. Not that impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States