Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
The crust turned out great! I unfortunately realized I was short on some of the spices a tad to late (no nutmeg and a pinch of cinnamon left! substituted some crushed cloves) :/, but the pie still turned out. Using fresh pumpkin makes all the difference!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Delicious!! To make 2 deep dish pies I used 3 cups of puree, 3 eggs, 1 can evaporated mild, and increased spices to 1 teaspoon each. Will never go back to store bought pies or to using canned pumpkin again. Their taste just does not compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Morrison, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
So yummy and super easy to make. I made it 3 times this fall with fresh pumpkins, my family and friends loved it. Love the taste of rich pumpkin, so sweet, yet so healthy. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I don't think I will EVER eat anyone else's pumpkin pie! I did as others suggested and added about 1/2 a cup of pumpkin and 1/2 tsp of allspice. It came out perfectly! Today I am going to attempt making "deep dish" pies for a potluck this evening. Thank you so much for this recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
It wasn't bad, but I felt it was lacking something. Perhaps the All Spice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is an "OK" recipe. The seasoning was just perfect for my family; we don't like it very spicy. I do take issue with the texture. It was not the normal "custardly" texture I expect in a pumpkin pie. It seemed like a firm pudding. I think I will keep looking for a recipe that has the right texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
YUM! I made this pie last night and it turned out great! This is my first homemade pumpkin pie and it was really easy. I also cut the pumpkin in half, scooped out the seeds and stringy stuff and baked it at 400 for 40 minutes. Then I just threw all the filling ingredients with the pumpkin into my Kitchen Aid mixer. I did DOUBLE the spices, plus added a pinch of cloves and all-spice. I also added the full cup of brown sugar instead of 3/4. I only got one pie out of it with a little filling remaining. I filled the left over filling into my extra crust and baked for 1/2 the time. My dog actually jumped on the counter to get the pie and it landed on the floor. It was so good that I was actually eating the pie off the floor (the parts that didn't touch the ground)! I just bought the pie crust to save some time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlind
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Yummy!! :D This recipe not only tells you how to make pie, but also how to take a pumpkin to puree. I am definity keeping this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
11/24/10. My mother in law, my mom and their sisters are fabulous cooks, and so we have always had Thanksgiving at my MIL's house. I just let the matriarchs take over while I stayed on the sidelines. BUT this year my best friend told me about this recipe, and so after 10 yrs I'm going to try something why not! NERVOUSLY I did this. I wasn't brave enough to do the crust so that was store bought. The rest I doubled the spices and left the salt as is. I roasted the pumpkin as many suggested. I also mixed the evaporated milk...1/2 evaporate, 1/2 condensed. With baited breath I waited for the reaction. "This is delicious!" my MIL was the 1st to exclaim.... They never opened the store bought pie last night. So thank you thank you thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This pie was fabulous!! The directions are so clear and it was much easier than I was expecting. The spice amounts are perfect. My roommates and I gobbled it down. It was so much fun to see their faces when they tasted it since they were not expecting good things when I brought in actual pumpkins and said, "We're making it from scratch!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States