Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This was my first time ever making a pie of any kind. I looked through a lot of recipes the last couple days trying to find the right one. And this one seemed the best. It was easy to make. I followed this recipe exactly except added some cloves. My only issues were like some this recipe only made 1 1/4 of a pie, but I think my pie plate is a bigger one and then I used one of those small custard bowls to use up the rest. I smells delicious except that the crust smells and taste like way too much shortening it's making me gag. but we'll see how the rest taste. Hopefully good. But next time I'm going with a different crust or lessen the shortening maybe use oil or actual butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This is the best recipe.....using 2% Carnation is so much creamery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Flavor wise and convenience-wise I would give this a 5-Star. But, when I made it yesterday, it took almost 75 min. to bake at 350. Looked it up in Joy of Cooking and recipe almost identical, should be 15 min at 425 then 45 min at 350. Cover the crust with foil to prevent over-browning. Taste is great, spices mild enough to so that majority of eaters will like. Crank 'em up a little for more sophisticated audience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
My family enjoyed this recipe. Texture was smooth. Favor just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Delicious pie! It has just the right amount of spices! My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Trail, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very good! My fiance was very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Texture was great, but the flavor was a bit bland. I substitued pumpkin pie spice for the spices called for, but maybe I should've added a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Langenburg Dieguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I had grown pumpkins in my garden for my grandsons to have fun with but NOT to eat as I used to HATE pumpkin pie! I ended up with them taking over unwanted areas & was not going to ever grow them again but this recipe has changed my mind on BOTH accounts! I now LOVE pumpkin pie & I WILL be growing pumpkins again just so I can make this recipe! In the past I had tried canned pumpkin or even fresh pumpkin but with different spices that others made & to me it was just nasty! This year my grandson who loves ANY pumpkin pie talked me into making him one since we had all these fresh pumpkins. I came to this recipe first by chance & made it figuring it didn't really matter as I wasn't gonna eat it anyways. I doubled it & made 2 pies one of which I used plain white sugar. I tried a bite of both since they were the first I had made myself from scratch & I was shocked as I loved it! Well actually I loved the one with BROWN SUGAR. It makes a HUGE difference in taste! Also I HATE nutmeg but this recipe had perfect amounts of the RIGHT spices & nothing more! I had a little bit of pumpkin filling left over after doubling it & put it in 3 little soufle dishes & baked it with no crust. It was divine! I even toasted the pumpkin seeds with the same spices & my family loved it! Oh & my grandson who loves anything pumpkin? He said it was the beat pumpkin pie ever with a perfect texture, perfect crust & perfect taste! I will be using all future pumpkins to cook & freeze ahead for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Russellville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I have made this pie for the last few years' holidays. Oddly enough, I don't care for pumpkin so I have never actually tried my pies, but my family really likes it. I strongly recommend using a blender or food processor to mash the pumpkin. A hand blender doesn't cut up all the chunks well. For a Lactose free version, I like using almond milk, but any kind of lactose free milk good for cooking will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States