Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Delicious pie! It has just the right amount of spices! My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Trail, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very good! My fiance was very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Texture was great, but the flavor was a bit bland. I substitued pumpkin pie spice for the spices called for, but maybe I should've added a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Langenburg Dieguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I had grown pumpkins in my garden for my grandsons to have fun with but NOT to eat as I used to HATE pumpkin pie! I ended up with them taking over unwanted areas & was not going to ever grow them again but this recipe has changed my mind on BOTH accounts! I now LOVE pumpkin pie & I WILL be growing pumpkins again just so I can make this recipe! In the past I had tried canned pumpkin or even fresh pumpkin but with different spices that others made & to me it was just nasty! This year my grandson who loves ANY pumpkin pie talked me into making him one since we had all these fresh pumpkins. I came to this recipe first by chance & made it figuring it didn't really matter as I wasn't gonna eat it anyways. I doubled it & made 2 pies one of which I used plain white sugar. I tried a bite of both since they were the first I had made myself from scratch & I was shocked as I loved it! Well actually I loved the one with BROWN SUGAR. It makes a HUGE difference in taste! Also I HATE nutmeg but this recipe had perfect amounts of the RIGHT spices & nothing more! I had a little bit of pumpkin filling left over after doubling it & put it in 3 little soufle dishes & baked it with no crust. It was divine! I even toasted the pumpkin seeds with the same spices & my family loved it! Oh & my grandson who loves anything pumpkin? He said it was the beat pumpkin pie ever with a perfect texture, perfect crust & perfect taste! I will be using all future pumpkins to cook & freeze ahead for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Russellville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I have made this pie for the last few years' holidays. Oddly enough, I don't care for pumpkin so I have never actually tried my pies, but my family really likes it. I strongly recommend using a blender or food processor to mash the pumpkin. A hand blender doesn't cut up all the chunks well. For a Lactose free version, I like using almond milk, but any kind of lactose free milk good for cooking will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
My first pumpkin pie to date, and it was WONDERFUL! What great flavor. It almost tasted like a gingersnap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crburros

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson Station, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
YUM! I had been warned that fresh pumpkin has a lot more water in it and can be mushy so I followed a friend's method of preparing: I baked my pumpkin whole (with holes poked in) until soft, put it in the blender and then let it sit in a strainer to get the extra water out for several hours. For the recipe I added an extra egg. It turned out PERFECT and SOOOO Yummy!!! My son this could use a bit more cinnamon but I thought the spices were just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star Dust Mining Company

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, New York, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was an awesome recipe!!!! I will make this again, for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this as my first ever pie. As far as the filling goes, I had to mix 50/50 fresh & canned b/c my pumpkin was small, and I think I would prefer this to fully fresh pumpkin. It's hard to get the real pumpkin smooth. It also seemed a little too mushy and creamy, so I think in the future I'd cut the evaporated milk a tad and replace with more pumpkin, maybe ~1/4 cup tradeoff. In case anyone else has never made pie crust before: Listen to directions here. Cut the shortening in by hand, add the water slowly, don't overwork. I made a rookie mistake of using my stand mixer and overworking the dough resulted in a dense rather than light and flaky piecrust. Oops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States