Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Amazing pumpkin pie...My family and friends love it...I do however tweak the recipe a little...instead of using 3/4 cup of packed brown sugar I use 1/2 a cup or less and don't pack it. I also add more spices and keep trying till it's what I like...So Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is the absolute best pumpkin pie ever! This was my first time making pumpkin pie with a pie pumpkin and I'll never go back to using canned pumpkin or buying a store-bought pumpkin pie ever again! It is a little work, but it's so worth it! I used a store-bought pie crust, roasted one 4.5 lb pie pumpkin at 400 degrees for 1 hr., let it cool, peeled off skin-which came off very easily, and pureed the pumpkin in my food processor. I got quite a bit of pureed pumpkin from just one 4.5 lb pie pumpkin, about 4 cups of puree. Two cups of pumpkin puree was not enough for this recipe so I used all 4 cups of puree. I doubled the entire recipe except for the salt & added 1 tsp. of Allspice. I used a 9" glass pie plate and had plenty of filling left over to make another pie. 40 min. of cooking time was not enough so I increased the cooking time to 55 min. and checked doneness with a toothpick. I let the pie cool for 2 hrs. and then covered & refrigerated it until it was cold before eating...added whipped cream and it was spectacular! I can't say enough about this recipe! 5 plus plus stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is the yummiest pie ever! It was a huge hit last thanksgiving and has been requested for this year (and many times in between)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
My dad absolutely loved this pie!! He ate three pieces in one setting'n
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Awesome Pie, very light and fluffy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChaffyCoot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Everyone loved this recipe. Made two for my home and two to take to work. The one I made fir my home was gone in three days. I Did add extra spices. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was a very good pie. I baked my pumpkin(a sugar/baking pumpkin) then let it cool. I also added slightly more of the cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg than the recipe called for and lowered the sugar slighly. I also added 1/4tp cloves as well. Otherwise it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerrie Rageth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Turned out great....although the texture was a little more dense then I like...although in all fairness, I am not the pumpkin pie fan in the house, my huby is and he thought it was great! Upped the amount of each of the spices by just a pinch, since we like our pumpkin pie a little spicier and added a pinch of black pepper(I ALWAYS do with pumpkin pie)...definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTHERHEN1982

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Light flavor, in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joelleberanek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lemont, Illinois, USA
Living In: Homer Glen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Excellent with home-grown pumpkins! Do not make this with a large pumpkin intended for carving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States